- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Not required
- Local director
- Unclear
- Registered address
- Unclear
- Minimum capital
- Not stated
- Yearly upkeep
- TZS 22,000 a year
- EU member
- No
- IWG business address
- 4 centresfrom $47/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Private company limited by shares (Companies Act, Cap. 212) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Business Registrations and Licensing Agency (BRELA) |
| Government filing fee | TZS 95,000 — Registration fee by nominal share capital: TZS 95,000 for capital above 20,000 up to 1,000,000; 175,000 up to 5,000,000; 260,000 up to 20,000,000; 290,000 up to 50,000,000; 400,000 up to 100,000,000 and up to 1,000,000 above 10 billion. Name reservation TZS 50,000. |
| Registration time | BRELA states applications are processed after payment is received, without a fixed time. |
| Resident director | BRELA requires a NIDA ID or passport (for foreigners) and a TIN for every director; residency is not addressed. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | Registration is done through the Online Registration System (ORS) with mobile or bank payment. |
| Registered address | Registered-office requirement not stated on BRELA's service page. |
| Minimum capital | Not stated |
| Corporate tax | TRA's Corporation Tax page describes the tax but does not print the headline rate; only a 20% concession for new pharmaceutical/leather manufacturers is given. |
| Every year | Annual return filing fee TZS 22,000; late filing penalty TZS 2,500 per month. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- TZS 95,000
Registration fee by nominal share capital: TZS 95,000 for capital above 20,000 up to 1,000,000; 175,000 up to 5,000,000; 260,000 up to 20,000,000; 290,000 up to 50,000,000; 400,000 up to 100,000,000 and up to 1,000,000 above 10 billion. Name reservation TZS 50,000.
- Every year
- TZS 22,000 a year
Annual return filing fee TZS 22,000; late filing penalty TZS 2,500 per month.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Tanzania, step by step
- Obtain a TIN from TRA for every director and gather NIDA IDs or passports.
- Create an account on ors.brela.go.tz and reserve the company name (TZS 50,000).
- Select the company category and fill in the company particulars online.
- Upload the company constitution, the integrity form and the consolidated form.
- Pay the registration fee for your share-capital band by mobile money or bank.
- Receive the certificate after processing, then file annual returns yearly for TZS 22,000.
Corporate tax in Tanzania
Not stated. TRA's Corporation Tax page describes the tax but does not print the headline rate; only a 20% concession for new pharmaceutical/leather manufacturers is given.
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Filing before every director has a Tanzanian TIN, which the ORS requires.
- Choosing a high nominal capital without noticing the registration fee rises with each band.
- Missing the annual return and accruing the monthly late penalty.
Compare Tanzania with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
TanzaniaLimited company | TZS 95,000 | Not stated | Not stated | Unclear | Not required | Unclear | TZS 22,000 a year |
AlgeriaSARL | DZD 4,000 | 2-3 weeks | 26% (19-26%) | Conditional | Notary | Required | Not stated |
EgyptLLC | EGP 250 | 1 business day | Not stated | Unclear | Depends | Unclear | Not stated |
GhanaPrivate limited | GHS 585 | Not stated | 25% | Resident director | Depends | Required | GHS 175 a year |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Fee bands by nominal share capital, name reservation 50,000, annual return 22,000, late penalty 2,500/month — brela.go.tz, checked September 27, 2026
- ORS online steps, documents, NIDA/passport and TIN for directors — brela.go.tz, checked September 27, 2026
- Corporation Tax guide (no headline rate printed) — tra.go.tz, checked September 27, 2026