1. Home
  2. Jurisdictions
  3. Egypt

Company registration in Egypt

An Egyptian LLC is incorporated through GAFI, which advertises one-business-day incorporation and an e-portal for submitting, paying and e-signing the file; GAFI then handles the Bar endorsement, commercial-register entry and tax card. Fees are mostly percentages of capital with small floors. The point foreign founders miss is that licences for the activity follow a separate, longer approval track.

Checked against official sources on September 27, 2026
Gov. filing fee
EGP 250
Registration time
1 business day
Corporate tax
Not stated
Local director
Unclear
Remote setup
Possible
Visit, notary or lawyer
Depends
Local director
Unclear
Registered address
Unclear
Minimum capital
EGP 1,000 (1 member)
Yearly upkeep
Not stated
EU member
No
IWG business address
35 centresfrom $27/mo

What the registry requires

Company typeLimited Liability Company (LLC, Law 159/1981)
RegistryGeneral Authority for Investment and Free Zones (GAFI)
Government filing feeEGP 250 — Bar Association endorsement 0.01% of issued capital (minimum EGP 250, maximum EGP 25,000) plus EGP 50 Bar stamp; notarisation 0.025% of capital (min EGP 10, max EGP 1,000); commercial-register entry EGP 63.25. From GAFI incorporation-service search extracts; the source page now returns 404.
Registration timeGAFI homepage: '1 Business Day to Incorporate Companies'. GAFI's Ease-of-Doing-Business page separately cites approvals, permits or licences within 20 business days.
Resident directorNo official page reachable during research states whether an LLC manager must be Egyptian or resident.
Visit, notary or lawyerGAFI e-portal lets investors submit, pay and electronically sign incorporation documents (search extract); otherwise filing is at an Investor Services Centre. Notarisation of the articles is part of the fee list.
Registered addressNo official page reachable states the registered-office or lease requirement.
Minimum capitalEGP 1,000 (1 member)
Corporate taxThe Egyptian Tax Authority publishes Law 91/2005 only as scanned PDFs; no official page stating the headline corporate rate could be read.
Every yearNo official annual fee found.

What it costs

Government filing fee
EGP 250

Bar Association endorsement 0.01% of issued capital (minimum EGP 250, maximum EGP 25,000) plus EGP 50 Bar stamp; notarisation 0.025% of capital (min EGP 10, max EGP 1,000); commercial-register entry EGP 63.25. From GAFI incorporation-service search extracts; the source page now returns 404.

Every year
Not stated

No official annual fee found.

Not included
Provider fees

Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.

How to register a company in Egypt, step by step

  1. Choose the LLC form and fix the capital (a single-member LLC can start from EGP 1,000).
  2. Draft the articles of association and have them notarised.
  3. Submit the incorporation file on the GAFI e-portal or at an Investor Services Centre and pay the Bar endorsement, notarisation and register fees.
  4. GAFI obtains the Bar Association endorsement and commercial-register entry on your behalf.
  5. Collect the tax card and open the social-insurance file that GAFI issues with the registration.
  6. Apply separately for any activity licences, which GAFI targets within 20 business days.

Corporate tax in Egypt

Not stated. The Egyptian Tax Authority publishes Law 91/2005 only as scanned PDFs; no official page stating the headline corporate rate could be read.

Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.

Common mistakes

  • Treating the one-day incorporation as the whole process and ignoring the separate licence approvals.
  • Under-estimating fees by forgetting they scale with issued capital up to the stated caps.
  • Assuming the single-member EGP 1,000 minimum applies to a multi-partner LLC without checking.

Compare Egypt with alternatives

Company registration requirements by jurisdiction, sortable
Yearly upkeep
EGP 2501 business dayNot statedUnclearDependsUnclearNot stated
DZD 4,0002-3 weeks26% (19-26%)ConditionalNotaryRequiredNot stated
GhanaPrivate limited
GHS 585Not stated25%Resident directorDependsRequiredGHS 175 a year
KenyaPrivate limited
VariesNot stated30%UnclearNot requiredUnclearNot stated
4 of 4 · official sources, checked September 27, 2026. Government fees only; agent and address costs are extra.≈ USD at ECB reference rates of September 25, 2026.

Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.

Sources

  • '1 Business Day to Incorporate Companies'; e-services portal link — gafi.gov.eg, checked September 27, 2026
  • Approvals, permits or licences within 20 business days; minimum capital lowered — gafi.gov.eg, checked September 27, 2026
  • Fee list: Bar endorsement 0.01% (EGP 250-25,000), notarisation 0.025%, commercial register EGP 63.25 — gafi.gov.eg, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
  • Single-member LLC minimum capital reduced to EGP 1,000 — gafi.gov.eg, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
  • E-portal: submit, pay and e-sign incorporation documents — portal.gafi.gov.eg, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
  • Investment Law 72/2017 guarantees: free profit transfer, residency permits, foreign staff up to 10% — gafi.gov.eg, checked September 27, 2026
  • Income-tax law list; Law 91/2005 PDF is a scanned image — eta.gov.eg, checked September 27, 2026
Business address · IWG · VirtualOffice

A business address in Egypt

Every company needs an address. Through our VirtualOffice catalogue you can take a business address in a Regus, Spaces or HQ centre in Egypt and use it for the registration file, correspondence and clients.

Whether the registry accepts it as the registered office is not stated; confirm with the provider before relying on it.

35IWG centres
12cities
$27from, per month
Addresses in Egypt
FAQ · 4 questions

Frequently asked questions

The government filing fee is EGP 250. Agent, address and professional fees come on top and vary by provider. Yearly upkeep: Not stated.

1 business day. Complex cases and referrals to other authorities take longer; a licensed provider will give a date for your file.

The registry does not state a residency rule; confirm it with a licensed provider before you start.

The registry does not say. Ask the provider to confirm the registry accepts the address before you pay.