- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Not required
- Local director
- No
- Registered address
- Physical UK address
- Minimum capital
- Not stated
- Yearly upkeep
- Confirmation statement + accounts
- EU member
- No
- IWG business address
- 370 centresfrom $74/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Private company limited by shares (Ltd) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Companies House |
| Government filing fee | £100 — £100 online, £124 by post. |
| Registration time | Online applications are usually registered within 24 hours; postal applications take 8 to 10 days. |
| Resident director | No UK-resident director is required. At least one director must be a person aged 16 or over, and every director must verify their identity. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | Fully online. Directors verify identity through GOV.UK One Login or an authorised corporate service provider. |
| Registered address | The registered office must be a physical address in the same part of the UK as the company (a PO box is not allowed). A service provider’s address can be used with permission if it meets the rules. The address is public. |
| Minimum capital | Not stated |
| Corporate tax | 25% main rate for profits over £250,000; 19% small profits rate up to £50,000; marginal relief in between. |
| Every year | A confirmation statement at least once a year and annual accounts due 9 months after the accounting reference date. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- £100
- ≈ $133 at ECB rates
£100 online, £124 by post.
- Every year
- Confirmation statement + accounts
A confirmation statement at least once a year and annual accounts due 9 months after the accounting reference date.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in the UK, step by step
- Choose a name and check it is available.
- Verify each director’s and controller’s identity (GOV.UK One Login or an authorised agent).
- Arrange a registered office address in the right part of the UK.
- Register online with Companies House and pay the fee.
- Register for Corporation Tax within 3 months of starting business.
- File a confirmation statement and annual accounts every year.
Corporate tax in the UK
19%–25%. 25% main rate for profits over £250,000; 19% small profits rate up to £50,000; marginal relief in between.
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Using a PO box or an address you have no right to use as the registered office.
- Skipping identity verification — since 18 November 2025 it is a legal requirement for directors and people with significant control.
- Forgetting VAT: registration is compulsory once taxable turnover passes the threshold.
Guides for your situation
Compare United Kingdom with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| €85.15≈ $97 | Not stated | 19% / 25.8% | No | Notary required | Dutch address | Annual accounts | |
DenmarkApS | DKK 670≈ $102 | Same day (digital) | 22% corporate tax | No | Not required | Real Danish address | Annual report yearly |
MaltaLtd | €100≈ $114 | From 24 hours | 35% (refund system) | No | Not required | CSP office accepted | Annual return |
| £100≈ $133 | Within 24 hours | 19%–25% | No | Not required | Physical UK address | Confirmation statement + accounts |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Fee £100 online / £124 post; 24 hours online — gov.uk, checked September 27, 2026
- Registered office rules — gov.uk, checked September 27, 2026
- Corporation Tax rates — gov.uk, checked September 27, 2026
- Identity verification from 18 November 2025 — gov.uk, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Directors: one natural person, 16+ — gov.uk, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)