- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Not required
- Local director
- EEA director or bond
- Registered address
- Physical address
- Minimum capital
- Not stated
- Yearly upkeep
- Annual return
- EU member
- Yes
- IWG business address
- 30 centresfrom $47/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Private company limited by shares (LTD) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Companies Registration Office (CRO) |
| Government filing fee | €50 — €50 filed online (Form A1 via CORE), €100 on paper. |
| Registration time | The CRO aims for 10 working days online (its charter says 15); the Fé Phráinn scheme aims for 5. |
| Resident director | At least one EEA-resident director, unless the company holds a €25,000 bond valid for at least two years. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | Online via CORE; no notary requirement found. |
| Registered address | The registered office must be a physical location in Ireland. The CRO does not address virtual offices. |
| Minimum capital | Not stated |
| Corporate tax | 12.5% on trading income; 25% on non-trading income such as rent or investment income. |
| Every year | Annual return and financial statements to the CRO (not re-verified in this check). |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- €50
- ≈ $57 at ECB rates
€50 filed online (Form A1 via CORE), €100 on paper.
- Every year
- Annual return
Annual return and financial statements to the CRO (not re-verified in this check).
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Ireland, step by step
- Choose a name and prepare the constitution.
- Appoint at least one EEA-resident director or arrange the €25,000 bond.
- Set up a physical registered office in Ireland.
- File Form A1 online through CORE.
- Register with Revenue for Corporation Tax.
- File the annual return every year.
Corporate tax in Ireland
12.5% trading. 12.5% on trading income; 25% on non-trading income such as rent or investment income.
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Appointing only non-EEA directors without the bond — failing the EEA-director rule is a criminal offence.
- Assuming all income is taxed at 12.5% — non-trading income is taxed at 25%.
- Using a PO box as the registered office.
Guides for your situation
Compare Ireland with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
BulgariaEOOD / OOD | €28.12≈ $32 | Next working day | 10% corporate tax | No | Notary (specimen) | Not stated | Accounts free to file |
LithuaniaUAB / MB | €30.83≈ $35 | 1 working day (online) | 17% profit tax | Not stated | eIDAS or notary | Owner's consent | Financial statements |
IrelandLTD | €50≈ $57 | 5–15 working days | 12.5% trading | EEA director or bond | Not required | Physical address | Annual return |
Croatiad.o.o. / j.d.o.o. | €55≈ $63 | 5 working days | 18% (10% ≤ €1M) | No | Notary | Lease for tax registry | Not stated |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- EEA-resident director or €25,000 bond — cro.ie, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Corporation Tax 12.5% / 25% — revenue.ie, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Form A1 fee, timelines, registered office — cro.ie, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)