- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Notary (specimen)
- Local director
- No
- Registered address
- Not stated
- Minimum capital
- 2 BGN legal minimum
- Yearly upkeep
- Accounts free to file
- EU member
- Yes
- IWG business address
- 20 centresfrom $47/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Еднолично дружество с ограничена отговорност (EOOD) / дружество с ограничена отговорност (OOD) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Registry Agency (Агенция по вписванията) — Commercial Register |
| Government filing fee | €28.12 — State fee for first registration of an OOD/EOOD filed electronically: 55 BGN / €28.12; at the counter 110 BGN / €56.24 (Tariff Art. 16a; euro extract published 30.12.2025, fees accepted in euro from 01.01.2026). |
| Registration time | Commercial Register Act Art. 19(3): applications for first registration of traders are examined by the end of the next working day after receipt. |
| Resident director | The manager must be a natural person; the application identifies a manager by EGN, foreigner's LNCh or date of birth. No residency requirement is stated. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | The Registry Agency lists a notarised manager's consent with specimen signature among the required documents; the application itself may be filed electronically at half the counter fee. |
| Registered address | A seat and management address in Bulgaria is a mandatory field; the Registry Agency's document list contains no proof of premises and says nothing about provider addresses. |
| Minimum capital | 2 BGN legal minimum |
| Corporate tax | National Revenue Agency: corporate tax rate is 10% (ZKPO Art. 20); annual return 1 March–30 June, tax payable by 30 June of the following year. |
| Every year | Commercial Register Act Art. 12(3): no state fee is due for publishing annual financial statements (acts under Art. 6(3)); they are filed within the Accountancy Act deadlines. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- €28.12
- ≈ $32 at ECB rates
State fee for first registration of an OOD/EOOD filed electronically: 55 BGN / €28.12; at the counter 110 BGN / €56.24 (Tariff Art. 16a; euro extract published 30.12.2025, fees accepted in euro from 01.01.2026).
- Every year
- Accounts free to file
Commercial Register Act Art. 12(3): no state fee is due for publishing annual financial statements (acts under Art. 6(3)); they are filed within the Accountancy Act deadlines.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Bulgaria, step by step
- Optionally reserve the company name (form D1).
- Draft the constitutive act or partnership agreement and the manager appointment decision.
- Open a capital-deposit account and obtain the bank's paid-in capital note.
- Have the manager's consent and specimen signature notarised.
- File application A4 with declarations under Art. 13(4) and 13(5), electronically or at the counter.
- Await the ruling by the end of the next working day and check the entry online.
Corporate tax in Bulgaria
10% corporate tax. National Revenue Agency: corporate tax rate is 10% (ZKPO Art. 20); annual return 1 March–30 June, tax payable by 30 June of the following year.
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Filing on paper and paying 110 BGN / €56.24 instead of the 55 BGN / €28.12 electronic fee.
- Forgetting the notarised manager's consent and specimen signature.
- Paying in less than 70% of a capital set above the legal minimum before filing.
Compare Bulgaria with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
GreeceIKE | €18≈ $21 | Same day via e-YMS | 22% corporate tax | No | AFM + TaxisNet | Statutory seat | Not stated |
BulgariaEOOD / OOD | €28.12≈ $32 | Next working day | 10% corporate tax | No | Notary (specimen) | Not stated | Accounts free to file |
FranceSAS | €28.04≈ $32 | ≈2 weeks (Siren) | 25% | No | Not required | Domiciliation ok | ≈€11 accounts filing |
LithuaniaUAB / MB | €30.83≈ $35 | 1 working day (online) | 17% profit tax | Not stated | eIDAS or notary | Owner's consent | Financial statements |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Required documents, notarised manager consent and specimen, 2 BGN statutory minimum capital, 70% paid-in rule, bank capital note — registryagency.bg, checked September 27, 2026
- Tariff Art. 16a: OOD/EOOD registration 110 BGN / €56.24 at counter, 55 BGN / €28.12 electronically (euro extract) — portal.registryagency.bg, checked September 27, 2026
- Commercial Register Act Art. 19(3) next-working-day rule; Art. 12(2) e-filing fees ≤50%; Art. 12(3) no fee for annual financial statements — registryagency.bg, checked September 27, 2026
- Corporate tax 10%, return and payment deadlines — nra.bg, checked September 27, 2026
- Fees in euro from 01.01.2026; capital converted BGN→EUR automatically — portal.registryagency.bg, checked September 27, 2026
- Manager identified by EGN / LNCh / date of birth; seat and management address fields — portal.registryagency.bg, checked September 27, 2026