- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Not required
- Local director
- No
- Registered address
- Domiciliation ok
- Minimum capital
- €1 minimum
- Yearly upkeep
- ≈€11 accounts filing
- EU member
- Yes
- IWG business address
- 155 centresfrom $65/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Société par actions simplifiée (SAS) — the form Business France highlights for foreign investors; the SARL is the alternative |
|---|---|
| Registry | Guichet unique des formalités d'entreprises (INPI), which forwards to the greffe du tribunal de commerce (RCS) and the Registre national des entreprises |
| Government filing fee | €28.04 — Registry fee €22.14 excl. VAT for registering a commercial company plus INPI/RNE fee €5.90; BODACC notice free for a creation. Tariff effective 1 March 2026. |
| Registration time | INPI FAQ: the guichet unique cannot commit to processing times; a Siren number is issued on average within two weeks. |
| Resident director | Service-public sets no nationality or residence condition for the président; a non-EU director who comes to France for more than 3 months needs a 'Talent – company director' residence permit. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | No notary: articles are private, capital is deposited with a bank or notary against a deposit certificate, and the file is submitted online on the guichet unique. |
| Registered address | The registered office may be at a prefecture-approved domiciliation company under a contract of at least 3 months, or at the legal representative's home for up to 5 years. |
| Minimum capital | €1 minimum |
| Corporate tax | Standard IS rate 25%; 15% on the first €42,500 of profit for companies with turnover up to €10m whose capital is fully paid and at least 75% held by individuals. |
| Every year | Annual accounts filing: greffe €5.31 excl. VAT plus INPI €5.45; no other recurring registry fee listed. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- €28.04
- ≈ $32 at ECB rates
Registry fee €22.14 excl. VAT for registering a commercial company plus INPI/RNE fee €5.90; BODACC notice free for a creation. Tariff effective 1 March 2026.
- Every year
- ≈€11 accounts filing
Annual accounts filing: greffe €5.31 excl. VAT plus INPI €5.45; no other recurring registry fee listed.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in France, step by step
- Choose the registered office: leased premises, an approved domiciliation company (3-month minimum contract) or the president's home.
- Draft the articles naming the président and fixing the capital (from €1).
- Deposit the capital with a bank or notary and obtain the certificate of deposit.
- Publish a legal notice of incorporation in an authorised journal.
- File the creation on formalites.entreprises.gouv.fr with the articles, deposit certificate, notice and ID of the président.
- Receive the Siren/Kbis after validation by the greffe; funds are released once the company is registered.
Corporate tax in France
25%. Standard IS rate 25%; 15% on the first €42,500 of profit for companies with turnover up to €10m whose capital is fully paid and at least 75% held by individuals.
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Trying to file before the capital is deposited: the deposit certificate is a mandatory part of the registration file.
- Using a home or virtual address without a compliant domiciliation contract or without checking the 5-year limit for the representative's home.
- Assuming a non-EU president who will actually live in France needs no permit; the exemption covers only directors who stay abroad or come for under 3 months.
Compare France with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
GreeceIKE | €18≈ $21 | Same day via e-YMS | 22% corporate tax | No | AFM + TaxisNet | Statutory seat | Not stated |
FranceSAS | €28.04≈ $32 | ≈2 weeks (Siren) | 25% | No | Not required | Domiciliation ok | ≈€11 accounts filing |
BulgariaEOOD / OOD | €28.12≈ $32 | Next working day | 10% corporate tax | No | Notary (specimen) | Not stated | Accounts free to file |
LithuaniaUAB / MB | €30.83≈ $35 | 1 working day (online) | 17% profit tax | Not stated | eIDAS or notary | Owner's consent | Financial statements |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- SAS capital fixed freely, €1 minimum; president required; IS 25% — entreprendre.service-public.gouv.fr, checked September 27, 2026
- Registry €22.14 HT, INPI €5.90, BODACC free (1 March 2026); annual accounts €5.31 HT + €5.45 — formalites.entreprises.gouv.fr, checked September 27, 2026
- IS 25%, reduced 15% up to €42,500 — entreprendre.service-public.gouv.fr, checked September 27, 2026
- Capital deposited with a bank or notary; SAS 50% paid, SARL 20% — entreprendre.service-public.gouv.fr, checked September 27, 2026
- Domiciliation company allowed, 3-month contract; representative's home up to 5 years — entreprendre.service-public.gouv.fr, checked September 27, 2026
- Guichet unique does not commit to processing time; Siren on average within two weeks — inpi.fr, checked September 27, 2026
- SAS suited to foreign investors, €1 capital — welcome.businessfrance.fr, checked September 27, 2026
- Talent – company director permit for non-EU legal representatives appointed for more than 3 months — welcometofrance.com, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)