- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Not required
- Local director
- No
- Registered address
- Agent address
- Minimum capital
- Not stated
- Yearly upkeep
- $300–$400 LLC tax
- EU member
- No
- IWG business address
- 1,671 centresfrom $47/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Limited Liability Company (LLC) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Delaware Division of Corporations |
| Government filing fee | $110 — State filing fee for an LLC Certificate of Formation. Paid expedite options: 24-hour $50, same-day $100. |
| Registration time | The Division publishes no standard processing time; expedited filing is sold as 24-hour, same-day, 2-hour or 1-hour service. |
| Resident director | No resident member or manager requirement is stated. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | No in-person step is stated; filing goes through a Delaware registered agent. |
| Registered address | Every entity must keep a registered office and registered agent in Delaware with a physical street address. A PO box alone is not acceptable. |
| Minimum capital | Not stated |
| Corporate tax | An LLC’s income tax treatment depends on its members; we do not summarise it here. |
| Every year | Annual LLC tax is due by June 1. Two official pages disagree on the amount ($400 on the tax instructions page, $300 on the formation page); confirm with the Division before paying. LLCs file no annual report. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- $110
State filing fee for an LLC Certificate of Formation. Paid expedite options: 24-hour $50, same-day $100.
- Every year
- $300–$400 LLC tax
Annual LLC tax is due by June 1. Two official pages disagree on the amount ($400 on the tax instructions page, $300 on the formation page); confirm with the Division before paying. LLCs file no annual report.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Delaware, step by step
- Choose a name that is available in Delaware.
- Appoint a registered agent with a physical Delaware address.
- File the Certificate of Formation (standard or expedited).
- Get an EIN from the IRS — non-US owners can apply without an SSN or ITIN.
- Sign an operating agreement and open a bank account.
- Diarise the annual LLC tax (June 1) and US information returns.
Corporate tax in Delaware
Depends on owners. An LLC’s income tax treatment depends on its members; we do not summarise it here.
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Treating the registered agent’s address as an office you can use for mail and banking — it is a legal service address only.
- Missing the June 1 annual tax: the state adds a penalty and monthly interest.
- Choosing an LLC when you plan to raise venture capital — investors usually expect a C-Corp.
Guides for your situation
- How non-US founders open a US LLC
- Delaware C-Corp for venture-backed startups
- A US LLC for online stores and marketplace sellers
Compare Delaware with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
WyomingLLC | $100 | Not stated | No state income tax | No | Not required | Agent address | From $60 a year |
DelawareLLC | $110 | Not stated | Depends on owners | No | Not required | Agent address | $300–$400 LLC tax |
CanadaFederal corporation | CA$200≈ $141 | 1 business day | 15% federal | 25% resident Canadian | Not required | Office in Canada | $12 a year (online) |
MexicoS. de R.L. de C.V. | Varies | Up to 10 business days | 30% ISR | No | Notary (in person) | Mexican tax domicile | Annual tax return |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Registered agent required; formation steps — corp.delaware.gov, checked September 27, 2026
- LLC filing fee $110 and expedite fees — corpfiles.delaware.gov, checked September 27, 2026
- LLC annual tax $400 by June 1, penalty $200 + 1.5%/month — corp.delaware.gov, checked September 27, 2026
- Registered agent rules — corp.delaware.gov, checked September 27, 2026