1. Home
  2. Jurisdictions
  3. Croatia

Company registration in Croatia

A d.o.o. or j.d.o.o. is entered in the court register by a commercial court within five working days. Croatian citizens can do it online through START without a notary, but foreign founders take the physical route: an OIB for each founder, a notarial act, capital paid via a bank or FINA, then filing via HITRO.HR. Missing OIBs are the usual blocker.

Checked against official sources on September 27, 2026
Gov. filing fee
€55
Registration time
5 working days
Corporate tax
18% (10% ≤ €1M)
Local director
No
Remote setup
Visit needed
Visit, notary or lawyer
Notary
Local director
No
Registered address
Lease for tax registry
Minimum capital
€2,500 / j.d.o.o. €1
Yearly upkeep
Not stated
EU member
Yes
IWG business address
4 centresfrom $47/mo

What the registry requires

Company typeDruštvo s ograničenom odgovornošću (d.o.o.) / jednostavno d.o.o. (j.d.o.o.)
RegistrySudski registar (commercial courts), Ministry of Justice and Public Administration
Government filing fee€55 — START FAQ: court fee €55 for a d.o.o. and €10 for a j.d.o.o. START is limited to Croatian citizens, so foreign founders go through a notary and HITRO.HR and pay notary fees on top; the court fee for that route was not found on an official page.
Registration timegov.hr and Invest Croatia: the commercial court registers the company within 5 working days of a complete application.
Resident directorEvery founder must hold a Croatian OIB before founding; no residency requirement for directors is stated on the official pages retrieved.
Visit, notary or lawyergov.hr: foreign nationals found 'physically' — the founding declaration or agreement is a notarial act or a notary-certified private document; START (no notary) is only for Croatian citizens and e-Sudski registar only for HR/EU-EEA citizens.
Registered addressgov.hr lists a lease with the premises owner among the documents for registering with the Tax Administration; nothing is stated about provider addresses.
Minimum capital€2,500 / j.d.o.o. €1
Corporate taxTax Administration: 10% if revenue in the tax period is up to €1,000,000, otherwise 18%.
Every yearA j.d.o.o. must set aside one quarter of the profit shown in its annual accounts as reserves; no annual registry fee was found.

What it costs

Government filing fee
€55
≈ $63 at ECB rates

START FAQ: court fee €55 for a d.o.o. and €10 for a j.d.o.o. START is limited to Croatian citizens, so foreign founders go through a notary and HITRO.HR and pay notary fees on top; the court fee for that route was not found on an official page.

Every year
Not stated

A j.d.o.o. must set aside one quarter of the profit shown in its annual accounts as reserves; no annual registry fee was found.

Not included
Provider fees

Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.

How to register a company in Croatia, step by step

  1. Obtain a Croatian OIB for every founder and director.
  2. Check the company name in the court register.
  3. Sign the founding declaration or agreement before a notary.
  4. Pay at least one quarter of the capital (min €2,500, or €1 for a j.d.o.o.) into a transit account.
  5. Submit form Po and attachments to the commercial court via HITRO.HR and pay the court fee.
  6. Collect the registration decision within five working days and register with the Tax Administration.

Corporate tax in Croatia

18% (10% ≤ €1M). Tax Administration: 10% if revenue in the tax period is up to €1,000,000, otherwise 18%.

Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.

Common mistakes

  • Trying to use START or e-Sudski registar as a non-EU founder.
  • Arriving at the notary without an OIB for each founder.
  • Choosing a j.d.o.o. without budgeting the compulsory profit reserve.

Compare Croatia with alternatives

Company registration requirements by jurisdiction, sortable
Yearly upkeep
LithuaniaUAB / MB
€30.83≈ $351 working day (online)17% profit taxNot statedeIDAS or notaryOwner's consentFinancial statements
€50≈ $575–15 working days12.5% tradingEEA director or bondNot requiredPhysical addressAnnual return
Croatiad.o.o. / j.d.o.o.
€55≈ $635 working days18% (10% ≤ €1M)NoNotaryLease for tax registryNot stated
€75≈ $861–3 working days20% on distributedNot statede-signature or notaryBoard statementAnnual report to VID
4 of 4 · official sources, checked September 27, 2026. Government fees only; agent and address costs are extra.≈ USD at ECB reference rates of September 25, 2026.

Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.

Sources

  • Routes by nationality (START, e-Sudski registar, physical), notarial act, €2,500 capital with ¼ paid up, lease for tax registration — gov.hr, checked September 27, 2026
  • START: Croatian citizens only; court fee €10 j.d.o.o. / €55 d.o.o.; 5 working days — start.gov.hr, checked September 27, 2026
  • Invest Croatia: notary certification of form Po, 5 working days, OIB for every founder — investcroatia.gov.hr, checked September 27, 2026
  • j.d.o.o.: capital €1, reserve of ¼ of profit, OIB issued with registration — gov.hr, checked September 27, 2026
  • Corporate tax 10% up to €1,000,000 revenue, otherwise 18% — porezna-uprava.gov.hr, checked September 27, 2026
Business address · IWG · VirtualOffice

A business address in Croatia

Every company needs an address. Through our VirtualOffice catalogue you can take a business address in a Regus, Spaces or HQ centre in Croatia and use it for the registration file, correspondence and clients.

Check the registry’s conditions before using it as the registered office; for mail, banking correspondence and your website it works in any case.

4IWG centres
2cities
$47from, per month
Addresses in Croatia
FAQ · 4 questions

Frequently asked questions

The government filing fee is €55. Agent, address and professional fees come on top and vary by provider. Yearly upkeep: Not stated.

5 working days. Complex cases and referrals to other authorities take longer; a licensed provider will give a date for your file.

Yes. No resident director is required, and the formation can be completed through a licensed provider. A notary must act, which the provider arranges.

Only if it meets the registry’s conditions; confirm with the provider before you pay.