- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- e-signature or notary
- Local director
- Not stated
- Registered address
- Board statement
- Minimum capital
- EUR 2,800
- Yearly upkeep
- Annual report to VID
- EU member
- Yes
- IWG business address
- 6 centresfrom $47/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Sabiedrība ar ierobežotu atbildību (SIA) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Register of Enterprises of the Republic of Latvia (Uzņēmumu reģistrs) – Commercial Register |
| Government filing fee | €75 — The Register of Enterprises summary states 'Fees start from EUR 75.00' for SIA registration; the detailed table (reduced-capital SIA, expedited registration, publication) could not be read and the fee must be paid before filing. |
| Registration time | 'Review period is 1–3 business days (excluding the day of submission)'; the Register also offers registration at a selected time for a higher fee. |
| Resident director | Board members must give consent to hold office (notarised or e-signed); the official pages consulted state no residency requirement but do not address non-resident board members explicitly. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | Signatures on the application and consents must be certified notarially or made with a secure electronic signature; secure e-signatures issued abroad (with time stamp) are accepted and every signatory must have one for electronic filing. Non-EU residents cannot authenticate on the e-service portal. |
| Registered address | The board must file a statement that the company can be reached at the legal address and has a legal basis to be located there (e.g. owner's consent). |
| Minimum capital | EUR 2,800 |
| Corporate tax | Profit is not taxed until distributed; distributed and conditionally distributed profit is taxed at 20 % on the gross amount (20/80 of the net payment). Finance Ministry / VID. |
| Every year | The annual report is filed with the State Revenue Service (VID); the filing deadline was not found on the official pages that could be read. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- €75
- ≈ $86 at ECB rates
The Register of Enterprises summary states 'Fees start from EUR 75.00' for SIA registration; the detailed table (reduced-capital SIA, expedited registration, publication) could not be read and the fee must be paid before filing.
- Every year
- Annual report to VID
The annual report is filed with the State Revenue Service (VID); the filing deadline was not found on the official pages that could be read.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Latvia, step by step
- Draft the founders' resolution and articles and choose a standard SIA (EUR 2,800) or the reduced-capital SIA.
- Open a payment account in the future company's name and pay in the share capital (founders certify this in form KR4 for cash up to EUR 50,000).
- Appoint the board; each member signs a consent, notarised or with a secure e-signature.
- Prepare the board's statement on the legal address with the legal basis for using the premises.
- Pay the state fee, then file the KR4 application electronically or on paper with the Register of Enterprises.
- After registration, register with VID for taxes and file the annual report each year.
Corporate tax in Latvia
20% on distributed. Profit is not taxed until distributed; distributed and conditionally distributed profit is taxed at 20 % on the gross amount (20/80 of the net payment). Finance Ministry / VID.
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Filing electronically when one signatory lacks a secure e-signature – then all signatures must be notarised.
- Omitting the board statement on the legal address or lacking a legal basis to use it.
- Submitting the application before the state fee is paid.
Compare Latvia with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
LatviaSIA | €75≈ $86 | 1–3 working days | 20% on distributed | Not stated | e-signature or notary | Board statement | Annual report to VID |
Polandsp. z o.o. | PLN 350≈ $91 | 1 day (S24) | 19% CIT (9% small) | No | Depends on route | Not stated | Financial statements |
| €85.15≈ $97 | Not stated | 19% / 25.8% | No | Notary required | Dutch address | Annual accounts | |
DenmarkApS | DKK 670≈ $102 | Same day (digital) | 22% corporate tax | No | Not required | Real Danish address | Annual report yearly |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Fees from EUR 75; 1–3 business days; e-signature or notarisation; legal-address statement — apraksti.ur.gov.lv, checked September 27, 2026
- EUR 2,800 minimum capital; board consent certification; KR4 capital certification; fee before filing — ur.gov.lv, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Foreign secure e-signatures accepted; non-EU residents cannot authenticate on the portal — ur.gov.lv, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Reduced-capital SIA exists — ur.gov.lv, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- 20 % on distributed profit, 20/80 gross-up; retained profit untaxed — fm.gov.lv, checked September 27, 2026
- 20 % rate on distributed profit — vid.gov.lv, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)