- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Not required
- Local director
- No
- Registered address
- Required
- Minimum capital
- Not stated
- Yearly upkeep
- Not stated
- EU member
- No
- IWG business address
- 82 centresfrom $32/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Private company (Proprietary) Limited (Pty) Ltd |
|---|---|
| Registry | Companies and Intellectual Property Commission (CIPC) |
| Government filing fee | ZAR 175 — CIPC filing fee for a private company with a standard Memorandum of Incorporation (CoR 15.1A) registered with a name; R125 if registered without a name (registration number as name). Figures come from CIPC 'Company forms and fees' search extracts; cipc.co.za refused every direct connection. |
| Registration time | No CIPC page stating a standard turnaround could be retrieved (site unreachable during research). |
| Resident director | Companies Act 71 of 2008 s.66(2)(a): a private company needs at least one director; s.69(7)-(8) lists ineligibility/disqualification grounds and none concerns nationality or residence. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | Filing is done online via CIPC eServices/BizPortal according to CIPC search extracts; the Act (s.13) only requires a Notice of Incorporation filed with the prescribed fee. Direct CIPC verification failed (host unreachable). |
| Registered address | Companies Act s.23(3): every company must continuously maintain at least one office in the Republic and register its address on the Notice of Incorporation. |
| Minimum capital | Not stated |
| Corporate tax | SARS: company income tax 27% for years of assessment 1 April 2024 - 31 March 2025 and 1 April 2026 - 31 March 2027. |
| Every year | CIPC annual-return fees (CoR 30.1, turnover-based) could not be retrieved; the fee page was unreachable. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- ZAR 175
- ≈ $11 at ECB rates
CIPC filing fee for a private company with a standard Memorandum of Incorporation (CoR 15.1A) registered with a name; R125 if registered without a name (registration number as name). Figures come from CIPC 'Company forms and fees' search extracts; cipc.co.za refused every direct connection.
- Every year
- Not stated
CIPC annual-return fees (CoR 30.1, turnover-based) could not be retrieved; the fee page was unreachable.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in South Africa, step by step
- Reserve a company name with CIPC (optional; you can register with the registration number as the name).
- Prepare the Memorandum of Incorporation, using the standard CoR 15.1A short form or a customised one.
- Collect certified ID or passport copies of every incorporator and director.
- File the Notice of Incorporation (CoR 14.1) online via CIPC eServices or BizPortal and pay the filing fee.
- Provide a South African registered office address on the notice.
- Receive the registration certificate, then register with SARS for income tax and file annual returns each year.
Corporate tax in South Africa
27%. SARS: company income tax 27% for years of assessment 1 April 2024 - 31 March 2025 and 1 April 2026 - 31 March 2027.
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Assuming a foreign address can serve as the registered office: the Act requires an office inside the Republic.
- Skipping the name reservation and expecting a chosen name to be accepted automatically.
- Forgetting that a company with only a registration number as name must still file annual returns with CIPC.
Compare South Africa with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
South AfricaPty Ltd | ZAR 175≈ $11 | Not stated | 27% | No | Not required | Required | Not stated |
AlgeriaSARL | DZD 4,000 | 2-3 weeks | 26% (19-26%) | Conditional | Notary | Required | Not stated |
EgyptLLC | EGP 250 | 1 business day | Not stated | Unclear | Depends | Unclear | Not stated |
GhanaPrivate limited | GHS 585 | Not stated | 25% | Resident director | Depends | Required | GHS 175 a year |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Private company filing fee R175 with name / R125 without name (CIPC forms and fees) — cipc.co.za, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Enterprise registration options and fees (CIPC) — cipc.co.za, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Company income tax rate 27% (2024/25 and 2026/27 years) — sars.gov.za, checked September 27, 2026
- Companies Act 71 of 2008: s.23(3) office in the Republic, s.66(2) one director for private company, s.69 director eligibility — gov.za, checked September 27, 2026
- InvestSA One Stop Shop lists company registration via CIPC — investsa.gov.za, checked September 27, 2026