- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- In person or proxy
- Local director
- No (NIF needed)
- Registered address
- Registry silent
- Minimum capital
- €1 per quota (min €2)
- Yearly upkeep
- Not stated
- EU member
- Yes
- IWG business address
- 25 centresfrom $50/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Sociedade por quotas (Lda); single-member: Sociedade unipessoal por quotas |
|---|---|
| Registry | Registo Comercial (IRN, Ministry of Justice) — via Empresa na Hora counters or the Empresa Online service |
| Government filing fee | €360 — €360 at an Empresa na Hora counter or online with custom articles; €220 online with pre-approved articles (urgent: €440/€720). |
| Registration time | Empresa na Hora: incorporation in under an hour at the counter; Empresa Online: decision within 5 days with pre-approved articles or 10 days otherwise. |
| Resident director | No residency requirement stated; non-resident partners need a Portuguese NIF, and residents of non-EU/EEA countries must appoint a fiscal representative once they have a tax relationship. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | All partners must attend the Empresa na Hora counter or be represented by a power of attorney issued before a notary, lawyer or solicitor. |
| Registered address | The registered office address must be given at formation; the official pages do not say whether a provider's address is accepted. |
| Minimum capital | €1 per quota (min €2) |
| Corporate tax | IRC 20% in 2025, 19% in 2026, 18% in 2027 and 17% from 2028; SMEs pay 15% on the first €50,000 of taxable income from 2026. |
| Every year | No annual registry fee is stated on the official pages checked. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- €360
- ≈ $411 at ECB rates
€360 at an Empresa na Hora counter or online with custom articles; €220 online with pre-approved articles (urgent: €440/€720).
- Every year
- Not stated
No annual registry fee is stated on the official pages checked.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Portugal, step by step
- Obtain a Portuguese NIF for every non-resident partner (fiscal representative for non-EU/EEA residents).
- Pick a name from the pre-approved list or reserve one, and choose pre-approved or custom articles.
- Decide the registered office and the capital (from €1 per quota).
- Attend any Empresa na Hora counter with ID and NIFs, or have a proxy holder attend, or file through Empresa Online.
- Pay €360 (or €220 online with pre-approved articles) and receive the registration and access code.
- Deposit the capital within 5 working days and declare the start of activity to the tax authority.
Corporate tax in Portugal
19% (2026). IRC 20% in 2025, 19% in 2026, 18% in 2027 and 17% from 2028; SMEs pay 15% on the first €50,000 of taxable income from 2026.
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Arriving at the counter without a NIF for every partner, which stops the same-day formation.
- Using a power of attorney that was not issued before a notary, lawyer or solicitor.
- Forgetting that a non-EU/EEA resident partner must appoint a fiscal representative within 15 days of the tax relationship arising.
Compare Portugal with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
BelgiumSRL/BV | €286.17≈ $326 | Not stated | 25% (20% SMEs) | No | Notary (video ok) | Registry silent | Not stated |
PortugalLda | €360≈ $411 | Same day (on the spot) | 19% (2026) | No (NIF needed) | In person or proxy | Registry silent | Not stated |
FinlandOy | €400≈ $456 | About 2 weeks | 20% corporate tax | One EEA board member | Not required | Finnish municipality | Accounts in 8 months |
AustriaGmbH | Varies | Not stated | 23% (min. €500/yr) | No | Notarial deed | Registry silent | €500 minimum tax |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Empresa na Hora: €360, all partners present, ID and NIF, capital deposit within 5 working days — registo.justica.gov.pt, checked September 27, 2026
- Empresa Online cost €220/€360 (urgent €440/€720) — justica.gov.pt, checked September 27, 2026
- Minimum €1 per quota; deposit timing options — justica.gov.pt, checked September 27, 2026
- Under one hour on the spot; online 5 or 10 days; power of attorney before notary, lawyer or solicitor; NIF for non-resident shareholders — portugalglobal.pt, checked September 27, 2026
- IRC 17% from 2028 with 19% (2026) and 18% (2027) transitional; SME 15% on first €50,000 — info.portaldasfinancas.gov.pt, checked September 27, 2026
- IRC 20% in 2025, 19% in 2026 — portugalglobal.pt, checked September 27, 2026
- Fiscal representative mandatory for third-country residents with a tax relationship; optional for EU/EEA — info.portaldasfinancas.gov.pt, checked September 27, 2026