- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Notary (video ok)
- Local director
- No
- Registered address
- Registry silent
- Minimum capital
- No minimum
- Yearly upkeep
- Not stated
- EU member
- Yes
- IWG business address
- 48 centresfrom $59/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Société à responsabilité limitée (SRL) / Besloten vennootschap (BV) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Banque-Carrefour des Entreprises / Kruispuntbank van Ondernemingen (BCE/KBO); deed filed at the enterprise court registry and published in the Moniteur belge |
| Government filing fee | €286.17 — Moniteur belge publication of the deed of constitution filed electronically (paper €354.41), tariff from 1 March 2026; the enterprise-counter (BCE) registration fee could not be retrieved; notary fees extra. |
| Registration time | The deed must be filed within 30 days of signature and UBOs registered within 30 days of creation; no standard processing time is published. |
| Resident director | No residency requirement for directors or founders is stated on the official pages checked. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | The deed must be notarial; since 1 Aug 2021 it can be signed by videoconference with the notary using a Belgian eID or itsme, at no extra cost. |
| Registered address | A registered office in Belgium is required; the official pages do not say whether a provider's address is accepted. |
| Minimum capital | No minimum |
| Corporate tax | Standard 25%; SMEs pay 20% on the first €100,000 of taxable profit. |
| Every year | No annual registry fee is stated on the official pages checked; annual accounts must be filed. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- €286.17
- ≈ $326 at ECB rates
Moniteur belge publication of the deed of constitution filed electronically (paper €354.41), tariff from 1 March 2026; the enterprise-counter (BCE) registration fee could not be retrieved; notary fees extra.
- Every year
- Not stated
No annual registry fee is stated on the official pages checked; annual accounts must be filed.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Belgium, step by step
- Draft a financial plan showing sufficient equity for at least the first two years.
- Deposit the initial contributions and obtain the bank certificate.
- Sign the deed of constitution before a notary, in the office or by videoconference with eID/itsme.
- The notary files the deed at the enterprise court registry within 30 days and it is published in the Moniteur belge.
- Register the company and its business units in the BCE/KBO through an approved enterprise counter.
- Register the beneficial owners in the UBO register within 30 days and activate the VAT number.
Corporate tax in Belgium
25% (20% SMEs). Standard 25%; SMEs pay 20% on the first €100,000 of taxable profit.
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Treating 'no minimum capital' as 'no capital': an unrealistic financial plan exposes founders to liability if the company fails within three years.
- Planning to sign remotely without a Belgian eID or itsme account, which the online procedure requires.
- Missing the 30-day deadlines for filing the deed and for the UBO register.
Compare Belgium with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
GermanyGmbH | €225≈ $257 | Not stated | 15% + trade tax | No | Notary (video ok) | German address | Not stated |
SpainSL | €250≈ $285 | 1–10 days | 25% (15% new cos.) | No (NIE needed) | Notary or proxy | Registry silent | Not stated |
EstoniaOÜ | €265≈ $302 | Same day | 0% retained, 22/78 distributed | No | Not required | Provider address OK | Annual report |
BelgiumSRL/BV | €286.17≈ $326 | Not stated | 25% (20% SMEs) | No | Notary (video ok) | Registry silent | Not stated |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Notarial deed, financial plan, sufficient starting equity, deed filed within 30 days, BCE via enterprise counter, UBO within 30 days — business.belgium.be, checked September 27, 2026
- Moniteur belge constitution fee €286.17 electronic / €354.41 paper from 1 March 2026 — ejustice.just.fgov.be, checked September 27, 2026
- No minimum capital, financial plan, notarial deed, one or more founders — notaire.be, checked September 27, 2026
- Deed signed by videoconference with eID or itsme since 1 Aug 2021, no extra cost — notaire.be, checked September 27, 2026
- Corporate tax 25%, SMEs 20% on first €100,000 — finances.belgium.be, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)