- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Notary or proxy
- Local director
- No (NIE needed)
- Registered address
- Registry silent
- Minimum capital
- €1 (rules < €3,000)
- Yearly upkeep
- Not stated
- EU member
- Yes
- IWG business address
- 84 centresfrom $53/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Sociedad de Responsabilidad Limitada (SL / SRL) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Registro Mercantil (provincial commercial register); the deed is filed by the notary, usually through the CIRCE/DUE online system |
| Government filing fee | €250 — Notary tariff €150 and registry tariff €100, excl. VAT, for companies formed through CIRCE with capital above €3,100; reduced tariffs under RDL 13/2010 apply at or below €3,100. |
| Registration time | CIRCE: 1 to 10 days depending on whether standard bylaws and deeds are used; Invest in Spain says the registrar registers within 6 business hours of receiving the electronic deed. |
| Resident director | Any foreign citizen may be a director, but every non-resident shareholder and director must first obtain a Spanish NIE/NIF. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | The deed must be signed before a Spanish notary; a founder who does not appear can act through a legalised, sworn-translated power of attorney. |
| Registered address | A registered office in Spain is required; the official pages do not say whether a provider's address is accepted. |
| Minimum capital | €1 (rules < €3,000) |
| Corporate tax | General rate 25%; newly created companies pay 15% in the first profitable year and the next; micro-companies under €1m turnover 21–22% (2025). |
| Every year | No annual registry fee is stated on the official pages checked; annual accounts must be deposited at the Registro Mercantil. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- €250
- ≈ $285 at ECB rates
Notary tariff €150 and registry tariff €100, excl. VAT, for companies formed through CIRCE with capital above €3,100; reduced tariffs under RDL 13/2010 apply at or below €3,100.
- Every year
- Not stated
No annual registry fee is stated on the official pages checked; annual accounts must be deposited at the Registro Mercantil.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Spain, step by step
- Obtain a NIE/NIF for every foreign shareholder and director, in Spain or at a Spanish consulate.
- Reserve the company name at the Registro Mercantil Central (negative name certificate).
- Open a bank account and deposit the capital (from €1) or certify the contribution.
- Complete the DUE at a PAE or online and sign the public deed before a notary, in person or by power of attorney.
- The notary sends the deed through CIRCE; the Registro Mercantil registers the company (1–10 days).
- File the tax census declaration (modelo 036) and register with Social Security before trading.
Corporate tax in Spain
25% (15% new cos.). General rate 25%; newly created companies pay 15% in the first profitable year and the next; micro-companies under €1m turnover 21–22% (2025).
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Booking the notary before every foreign founder and director has a NIE, which stalls the deed.
- Sending a foreign power of attorney without apostille and sworn translation, which the notary will reject.
- Forming with €1 and ignoring the reserve and shortfall-liability rules that apply until capital reaches €3,000.
Compare Spain with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Slovakias.r.o. | €220≈ $251 | 2 working days | 21% (10% ≤ €100k) | Permit if non-EU/OECD | Notary/lawyer deed | Owner's consent | Not stated |
GermanyGmbH | €225≈ $257 | Not stated | 15% + trade tax | No | Notary (video ok) | German address | Not stated |
SpainSL | €250≈ $285 | 1–10 days | 25% (15% new cos.) | No (NIE needed) | Notary or proxy | Registry silent | Not stated |
EstoniaOÜ | €265≈ $302 | Same day | 0% retained, 22/78 distributed | No | Not required | Provider address OK | Annual report |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Minimum capital €1; rules while capital is below €3,000 — boe.es, checked September 27, 2026
- CIRCE: 1 to 10 days; only trip is to the notary — paeelectronico.es, checked September 27, 2026
- Notary €150 and registry €100 (+VAT) above €3,100; RDL 13/2010 tariffs at or below; capital €1; NIE for foreign partners — ipyme.org, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- General rate 25%, new companies 15%, micro-companies 21%/22% — sede.agenciatributaria.gob.es, checked September 27, 2026
- NIE/NIF for non-resident shareholders and directors; power of attorney if the founder does not appear; registration within 6 business hours — investinspain.org, checked September 27, 2026