- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Not required
- Local director
- One EEA board member
- Registered address
- Finnish municipality
- Minimum capital
- No minimum
- Yearly upkeep
- Accounts in 8 months
- EU member
- Yes
- IWG business address
- 17 centresfrom $62/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Osakeyhtiö (Oy) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Finnish Patent and Registration Office (PRH) – Trade Register |
| Government filing fee | €400 — Start-up notification handling fee EUR 400 (the route when not everyone has a Finnish personal identity code); the guided set-up package costs EUR 300 but requires Finnish identity codes for all persons filed. |
| Registration time | PRH publishes a running status instead of a target: on 21 Sept 2026 it was processing online start-up notifications received 10 Sept 2026 (about 11 days) and other notifications from 4 Sept 2026. |
| Resident director | At least one ordinary board member (and one deputy, if any) must reside within the EEA, and the managing director and any substitute must reside within the EEA; otherwise a PRH permit is needed (EUR 150 + EUR 6.50 invoicing fee per person) and is refused if no one is EEA-resident. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | No notary. Since 1 January 2026 notifications cannot be filed on paper; ytj.fi login requires a Finnish personal identity code plus Finnish e-identification (bank codes, mobile certificate or HST card), so a foreign founder without these has the notification filed by a person who has them (e.g. a local agent). Persons without Finnish identity codes can still be registered as shareholders and officers. |
| Registered address | The articles must name a registered office that is a municipality in Finland; the company's address need not be in the same municipality. PRH does not state any requirement to own or lease premises. |
| Minimum capital | No minimum |
| Corporate tax | 20 % on the profits of limited liability companies (Vero); the Government has proposed 18 % from tax year 2027. |
| Every year | Financial statements must be filed with the Trade Register within eight months of the end of each financial period, even if the company is inactive; late fees EUR 150 / 300 / 600 depending on delay, doubled for repeat offenders. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- €400
- ≈ $456 at ECB rates
Start-up notification handling fee EUR 400 (the route when not everyone has a Finnish personal identity code); the guided set-up package costs EUR 300 but requires Finnish identity codes for all persons filed.
- Every year
- Accounts in 8 months
Financial statements must be filed with the Trade Register within eight months of the end of each financial period, even if the company is inactive; late fees EUR 150 / 300 / 600 depending on delay, doubled for repeat offenders.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Finland, step by step
- Draft the memorandum of association and articles, naming a Finnish municipality as registered office.
- Decide the share capital (EUR 0 allowed); if any is subscribed, pay it into the company's bank account before filing.
- Appoint a board with at least one EEA-resident ordinary member and an EEA-resident managing director, or apply for PRH permits.
- Have a person with Finnish e-identification file the start-up notification at ytj.fi and pay the EUR 400 handling fee.
- Register with the Tax Administration (prepayment, VAT, employer registers) in the same notification.
- File beneficial-owner details and, every year, the financial statements within eight months of the period end.
Corporate tax in Finland
20% corporate tax. 20 % on the profits of limited liability companies (Vero); the Government has proposed 18 % from tax year 2027.
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Assuming a foreign eID can log in to ytj.fi – only Finnish identity codes with Finnish e-identification work.
- Appointing an all-non-EEA board and managing director without PRH permits, which the PRH will not grant.
- Forgetting that financial statements must be filed even when the company has no activity.
Compare Finland with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
FinlandOy | €400≈ $456 | About 2 weeks | 20% corporate tax | One EEA board member | Not required | Finnish municipality | Accounts in 8 months |
AustriaGmbH | Varies | Not stated | 23% (min. €500/yr) | No | Notarial deed | Registry silent | €500 minimum tax |
LuxembourgSARL | Varies | Permit up to 3 months | 17% CIT + surcharges | Permit holder present | Notary (SARL) | Real premises | Not stated |
RomaniaSRL | Varies | 1 working day | 16% profit tax | Not confirmed | Not required | Proof of right of use | Not stated |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Handling fees EUR 300 / EUR 400; zero share capital; no paper filing from 1 Jan 2026; identity-code routes — prh.fi, checked September 27, 2026
- EEA residency rules and PRH permit fee — prh.fi, checked September 27, 2026
- Current processing status dates (updated 21.9.2026) — prh.fi, checked September 27, 2026
- ytj.fi login requires Finnish personal identity code and Finnish e-identification — ytj.fi, checked September 27, 2026
- Registered office must be a municipality in Finland — prh.fi, checked September 27, 2026
- Financial statements within eight months; late fees EUR 150/300/600 — prh.fi, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Corporate income tax 20 %; proposal for 18 % from 2027 — vero.fi, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)