- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Not required
- Local director
- Unclear
- Registered address
- Unclear
- Minimum capital
- Not stated
- Yearly upkeep
- N5,000 a year
- EU member
- No
- IWG business address
- 22 centresfrom $30/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Private company limited by shares (CAMA 2020) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) |
| Government filing fee | NGN 10,000 — Gazetted CAC schedule (S.I. 6 of 2025, effective 29 May 2025): incorporation of a private company N10,000 for every N1,000,000 of share capital or part thereof; name reservation N1,000; same-day post-incorporation filing N30,000 extra. |
| Registration time | CAC pages were blocked (403); no official processing time read. NIPC separately targets its own investor registration within 48 working hours. |
| Resident director | CAC FAQ on director requirements was unreachable (403). |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | CAC operates the online Company Registration Portal (CRP); CAC extracts describe filing memorandum and articles with statutory forms online. |
| Registered address | Registered-address rule not readable on a reachable CAC page. |
| Minimum capital | Not stated |
| Corporate tax | FIRS/NRS sites returned bot-protection pages; no official rate page could be read. |
| Every year | Annual return N5,000 for share capital N100,000-N100M; N100,000 above N100M-N500M; N150,000 to N1bn; N200,000 above (2025 gazette). Late-filing penalty N2,000 one-off for a private company other than small. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- NGN 10,000
Gazetted CAC schedule (S.I. 6 of 2025, effective 29 May 2025): incorporation of a private company N10,000 for every N1,000,000 of share capital or part thereof; name reservation N1,000; same-day post-incorporation filing N30,000 extra.
- Every year
- N5,000 a year
Annual return N5,000 for share capital N100,000-N100M; N100,000 above N100M-N500M; N150,000 to N1bn; N200,000 above (2025 gazette). Late-filing penalty N2,000 one-off for a private company other than small.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Nigeria, step by step
- Reserve the company name on the CAC portal.
- Prepare the memorandum and articles of association and the statutory incorporation forms.
- Pay stamp duty and the CAC filing fee (N10,000 per N1,000,000 of share capital).
- Submit the application online and collect the certificate of incorporation.
- Register the company with NIPC (N150,000 processing fee, targeted within 48 working hours).
- Apply for a business permit from the Federal Ministry of Interior and, if hiring foreigners, an expatriate quota.
Corporate tax in Nigeria
Not stated. FIRS/NRS sites returned bot-protection pages; no official rate page could be read.
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Stopping at CAC incorporation and trading without NIPC registration and a business permit.
- Setting share capital without checking foreign-participation capital rules with CAC first.
- Missing the annual return, which triggers per-officer penalties under the 2025 schedule.
Compare Nigeria with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
NigeriaPrivate limited | NGN 10,000 | Not stated | Not stated | Unclear | Not required | Unclear | N5,000 a year |
AlgeriaSARL | DZD 4,000 | 2-3 weeks | 26% (19-26%) | Conditional | Notary | Required | Not stated |
EgyptLLC | EGP 250 | 1 business day | Not stated | Unclear | Depends | Unclear | Not stated |
GhanaPrivate limited | GHS 585 | Not stated | 25% | Resident director | Depends | Required | GHS 175 a year |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Gazetted fee schedule: N10,000 per N1,000,000 share capital; name reservation N1,000; annual returns by capital band — news.cac.gov.ng, checked September 27, 2026
- Incorporation requirements: name reservation, stamp duty, memorandum and articles, filing fee; 25% paid-up rule — cac.gov.ng, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- NIPC registration after CAC incorporation; business permit from Ministry of Interior; N150,000; 48 hours — nipc.gov.ng, checked September 27, 2026
- OSIC: CAC fees payable directly to CAC; 17 co-located agencies — nipc.gov.ng, checked September 27, 2026