- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Not required
- Local director
- Resident director
- Registered address
- Required
- Minimum capital
- Not stated
- Yearly upkeep
- Rs 500 a year (small)
- EU member
- No
- IWG business address
- 3 centresfrom $47/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Private company limited by shares (domestic, Companies Act 2001) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Registrar of Companies, Corporate and Business Registration Department (CBRD) |
| Government filing fee | MUR 0 — Incorporation of a private company is free; summary of file Rs 100; electronic certificate free; signed certificate on request Rs 300. |
| Registration time | EDB Mauritius: incorporation/registration is completed within half a day; CBRD sets 3 working days for certificates on request. |
| Resident director | CBRD: a company must at all times have at least one director resident in Mauritius; proof of the resident director's address is filed. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | Online incorporation via the MNS/CBRIS portal or paper filing at the Registrar; passport copies for non-residents. |
| Registered address | The application must state the registered office address of the company. |
| Minimum capital | Not stated |
| Corporate tax | MRA: standard corporate tax 15%; 3% on export of goods. |
| Every year | Annual registration fee 2026: small private company with turnover up to Rs 30M Rs 500 (Rs 750 late); Rs 30M-100M Rs 2,500; above Rs 100M Rs 18,000. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- MUR 0
Incorporation of a private company is free; summary of file Rs 100; electronic certificate free; signed certificate on request Rs 300.
- Every year
- Rs 500 a year (small)
Annual registration fee 2026: small private company with turnover up to Rs 30M Rs 500 (Rs 750 late); Rs 30M-100M Rs 2,500; above Rs 100M Rs 18,000.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Mauritius, step by step
- Check the proposed name against the Registrar's list (verification optional).
- Appoint at least one director resident in Mauritius and gather passport copies for non-resident officers.
- Complete Form 1 with directors, shareholders, share allocation and the registered office address.
- Attach signed consents: Form 7 (directors), Form 9 (shareholders), Form 8 (secretary) and proof of the resident director's address.
- File online via the MNS/CBRIS portal or at the CBRD counter; incorporation is free.
- Download the electronic certificate, register the business activity and pay the annual registration fee each year.
Corporate tax in Mauritius
15%. MRA: standard corporate tax 15%; 3% on export of goods.
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Listing only overseas directors, which breaches the resident-director rule.
- Ordering a signed certificate and paying Rs 300 when the free electronic one is accepted.
- Missing the annual registration fee window, which raises Rs 500 to Rs 750.
Compare Mauritius with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
MauritiusDomestic company | MUR 0 | Within half a day | 15% | Resident director | Not required | Required | Rs 500 a year (small) |
AlgeriaSARL | DZD 4,000 | 2-3 weeks | 26% (19-26%) | Conditional | Notary | Required | Not stated |
EgyptLLC | EGP 250 | 1 business day | Not stated | Unclear | Depends | Unclear | Not stated |
GhanaPrivate limited | GHS 585 | Not stated | 25% | Resident director | Depends | Required | GHS 175 a year |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Free incorporation, Rs 100 summary, Rs 300 signed certificate, resident director, MNS portal, documents — companies.govmu.org, checked September 27, 2026
- At least one director resident in Mauritius at all times; forms 1, 7, 8, 9; fee table — companies.govmu.org, checked September 27, 2026
- Annual registration fees 2026 by turnover band — companies.govmu.org, checked September 27, 2026
- Corporate tax 15%; 3% on export of goods — mra.mu, checked September 27, 2026
- Incorporation completed within half a day — edbmauritius.org, checked September 27, 2026