- Remote setup
- Visit needed
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Depends
- Local director
- No
- Registered address
- Taiwan head office
- Minimum capital
- No minimum (CPA audit)
- Yearly upkeep
- Not stated
- EU member
- No
- IWG business address
- 15 centresfrom $47/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Limited company (Youxian Gongsi) as a foreign-invested subsidiary |
|---|---|
| Registry | Ministry of Economic Affairs (Department of Commerce / Central Region Office or municipal bureaus), after Department of Investment Review approval |
| Government filing fee | NT$1,000 — Establishment registration: NT$1 per NT$4,000 of total capital, minimum NT$1,000; name pre-check NT$300 (NT$150 online); NT$300 discount for online filing (Company Registration Fee Regulations Arts. 2, 3, 6). |
| Registration time | InvesTaiwan's FAQ on registration time gives no figure; investment approval by the Department of Investment Review precedes company registration. |
| Resident director | A limited company has one to three directors and InvesTaiwan states all directors can be foreign nationals residing outside Taiwan. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | Name pre-check and registration can be filed through the one-stop online portal; the official pages consulted do not state authentication requirements for the foreign investor's documents. |
| Registered address | A company's domicile is the location of its head office (Company Act Art. 3); registration is with the authority for that location and capital band. |
| Minimum capital | No minimum (CPA audit) |
| Corporate tax | Profit-seeking enterprise income tax 20% when taxable income exceeds NT$120,000; exempt at or below that amount. |
| Every year | Official pages consulted did not state an annual registry fee; an annual profit-seeking enterprise income tax return is filed. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- NT$1,000
Establishment registration: NT$1 per NT$4,000 of total capital, minimum NT$1,000; name pre-check NT$300 (NT$150 online); NT$300 discount for online filing (Company Registration Fee Regulations Arts. 2, 3, 6).
- Every year
- Not stated
Official pages consulted did not state an annual registry fee; an annual profit-seeking enterprise income tax return is filed.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Taiwan, step by step
- Choose a Chinese company name and file a name pre-check with the MOEA Central Region Office (NT$300, or NT$150 online).
- Submit the Investment Application Form and documents to the Department of Investment Review, MOEA.
- After approval, remit the capital from abroad through a domestic bank, presenting the approval documents.
- Have an independent CPA audit the paid-in capital for the registration application.
- File the establishment registration with the MOEA (capital over NT$500 million) or the municipal authority; fee NT$1 per NT$4,000 of capital.
- Register the business with the local tax collection authority.
Corporate tax in Taiwan
20%. Profit-seeking enterprise income tax 20% when taxable income exceeds NT$120,000; exempt at or below that amount.
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Filing company registration before the Department of Investment Review has approved the foreign investment.
- Remitting capital before approval, which the bank cannot book as approved foreign investment.
- Setting capital too low to cover reasonable expected costs, which the authorities review even though no minimum exists.
Compare Taiwan with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
TaiwanLimited company | NT$1,000 | Not stated | 20% | No | Depends | Taiwan head office | Not stated |
BangladeshPvt Ltd | BDT 4,700 | Not stated | 27.5% | Not stated | Depends | Registered office | BDT 200 per filing |
ChinaWFOE | Varies | Not stated | 25% | Not stated | Depends | Domicile in China | Annual report (NECIPS) |
GeorgiaLLC | GEL 200 | 1 working day | 15% on distribution | No | Notary or NAPR | Actual GE address | Not stated |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Foreign investors apply first to the Department of Investment Review, then register under the Company Act — investtaiwan.nat.gov.tw, checked September 27, 2026
- Process: name pre-check, investment approval, remittance, registration by capital band, tax registration; no minimum capital; 1 to 3 directors all may reside abroad — investtaiwan.nat.gov.tw, checked September 27, 2026
- No registration time stated — investtaiwan.nat.gov.tw, checked September 27, 2026
- Company Act Art. 3 domicile, Art. 7 CPA capital audit, Art. 108 one to three directors — law.moj.gov.tw, checked September 27, 2026
- Registration fee NT$1 per NT$4,000 of capital, minimum NT$1,000; name pre-check NT$300; online discount — law.moj.gov.tw, checked September 27, 2026
- Profit-seeking enterprise income tax 20% above NT$120,000 — ntbsa.gov.tw, checked September 27, 2026