- Remote setup
- Visit needed
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Depends
- Local director
- Not stated
- Registered address
- Registered office
- Minimum capital
- Not stated
- Yearly upkeep
- BDT 200 per filing
- EU member
- No
- IWG business address
- 4 centresfrom $47/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Private limited company under the Companies Act 1994 |
|---|---|
| Registry | Registrar of Joint Stock Companies and Firms (RJSC) |
| Government filing fee | BDT 4,700 — For authorised capital up to BDT 1,000,000: name clearance BDT 500 per proposed name, filing of 6 documents at BDT 200 each (BDT 1,200), stamp on the memorandum BDT 1,000 and on the articles BDT 2,000; the capital-based fee is nil up to BDT 1,000,000, then BDT 80 per 100,000 up to 5,000,000 and BDT 130 per 100,000 above (RJSC fee schedule). |
| Registration time | No processing time is published; name clearance is valid for 30 days and the registration application must be made within that window. |
| Resident director | RJSC pages state no residency rule; directors' consents (Form IX), list of consenting directors (Form X) and particulars (Form XII) are filed. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | Application is made through the RJSC online portal, but the FAQ lists the memorandum and articles in original plus two copies; for foreign-invested entities RJSC lists an encashment certificate from a scheduled bank and Board of Investment permission. |
| Registered address | Form VI, notice of the situation of the registered office, is filed with the registration documents (Companies Act 1994 s.77). |
| Minimum capital | Not stated |
| Corporate tax | Non-listed ('other') companies 27.5% for assessment years 2026-27 and 2027-28, subject to routing income above set thresholds through bank transfers (NBR budget speech 2025-26). |
| Every year | Returns filed within schedule cost BDT 200 per document; late filing BDT 500 per day up to BDT 1,000 per document; the annual return (Schedule X) is due within 21 days of the AGM. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- BDT 4,700
For authorised capital up to BDT 1,000,000: name clearance BDT 500 per proposed name, filing of 6 documents at BDT 200 each (BDT 1,200), stamp on the memorandum BDT 1,000 and on the articles BDT 2,000; the capital-based fee is nil up to BDT 1,000,000, then BDT 80 per 100,000 up to 5,000,000 and BDT 130 per 100,000 above (RJSC fee schedule).
- Every year
- BDT 200 per filing
Returns filed within schedule cost BDT 200 per document; late filing BDT 500 per day up to BDT 1,000 per document; the annual return (Schedule X) is due within 21 days of the AGM.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Bangladesh, step by step
- Apply online for name clearance (BDT 500 per proposed name); it stays valid for 30 days.
- Draft the memorandum and articles of association and affix the stamp duty (BDT 1,000 and BDT 2,000 for capital up to BDT 1,000,000).
- Complete Form I (declaration), Form VI (registered office), Form IX (directors' consent), Form X and Form XII (directors' particulars).
- For foreign-remitted capital, obtain the encashment certificate from a scheduled bank and any Board of Investment permission.
- Submit the documents to RJSC with the filing fee of BDT 200 per document and the capital-based registration fee.
- Collect the certificate of incorporation and file returns within the statutory deadlines to avoid BDT 500-per-day late fees.
Corporate tax in Bangladesh
27.5%. Non-listed ('other') companies 27.5% for assessment years 2026-27 and 2027-28, subject to routing income above set thresholds through bank transfers (NBR budget speech 2025-26).
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Letting the 30-day name clearance expire before the registration documents are ready.
- Bringing foreign capital without the scheduled-bank encashment certificate RJSC lists among the documents.
- Missing post-registration filing deadlines, where late fees run BDT 500 per day per document.
Compare Bangladesh with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
BangladeshPvt Ltd | BDT 4,700 | Not stated | 27.5% | Not stated | Depends | Registered office | BDT 200 per filing |
ChinaWFOE | Varies | Not stated | 25% | Not stated | Depends | Domicile in China | Annual report (NECIPS) |
GeorgiaLLC | GEL 200 | 1 working day | 15% on distribution | No | Notary or NAPR | Actual GE address | Not stated |
IndonesiaPT PMA | Varies | Not stated | 22% CIT | No | Notary deed | Domicile required | LKPM reports |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Fee schedule: name clearance BDT 500, filing BDT 200 per document, stamps BDT 1,000 and 2,000 to 10,000 by capital, capital-based fee bands, returns filing and late fees — app.roc.gov.bd, checked September 27, 2026
- Documents for a private company (Forms I, VI, IX, X, XII, MoA/AoA original plus 2 copies), encashment certificate and BOI permission for foreign-invested entities, filing deadlines — app.roc.gov.bd, checked September 27, 2026
- Name clearance valid 30 days; apply for registration within validity — roc.gov.bd, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Company tax rates: other companies 27.5% for AY 2026-27 and 2027-28; listed and financial company rates — nbr.gov.bd, checked September 27, 2026