- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Notary deed
- Local director
- No
- Registered address
- Domicile required
- Minimum capital
- ≥IDR 10bn; 2.5bn paid
- Yearly upkeep
- LKPM reports
- EU member
- No
- IWG business address
- 57 centresfrom $30/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Foreign investment limited liability company (PT Penanaman Modal Asing) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Ministry of Law (Directorate General of General Legal Administration, AHU) with the OSS system of the Ministry of Investment/BKPM |
| Government filing fee | Varies — The Ministry of Law's legal-entity approval fee (PNBP) could not be retrieved from ahu.go.id (site unreachable); no fee is stated on BKPM/OSS pages. |
| Registration time | BKPM and OSS pages describe the steps (notary deed, Ministry of Law decree, NIB via OSS) without a standard processing time. |
| Resident director | No residency requirement is stated; the deed must name a board of directors and a board of commissioners. Minimum 2 shareholders. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | The deed of establishment and articles are drawn up by an Indonesian public notary before Ministry of Law ratification; presence can be by power of attorney in practice (not stated officially). |
| Registered address | The deed of establishment must state the company's domicile in Indonesia; investment value thresholds apply per KBLI per location. |
| Minimum capital | ≥IDR 10bn; 2.5bn paid |
| Corporate tax | General corporate income tax rate 22% from 2022 onwards; 3 points lower for qualifying listed companies. |
| Every year | PMA companies file periodic investment activity reports (LKPM) through OSS; deadlines are announced per quarter/semester on oss.go.id. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- Varies
The Ministry of Law's legal-entity approval fee (PNBP) could not be retrieved from ahu.go.id (site unreachable); no fee is stated on BKPM/OSS pages.
- Every year
- LKPM reports
PMA companies file periodic investment activity reports (LKPM) through OSS; deadlines are announced per quarter/semester on oss.go.id.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Indonesia, step by step
- Pick the KBLI business classification and check it is open to foreign ownership under the Positive Investment List.
- Fix the company name, domicile, shareholders (minimum two) and capital structure meeting the IDR 10 billion investment plan.
- Sign the deed of establishment and articles of association before an Indonesian public notary.
- Obtain the Ministry of Law decree ratifying the legal entity.
- Register for a tax number (NPWP) and obtain the NIB and business licences via OSS.
- File LKPM investment reports and any sector licences after start-up.
Corporate tax in Indonesia
22% CIT. General corporate income tax rate 22% from 2022 onwards; 3 points lower for qualifying listed companies.
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Planning less than IDR 10 billion of investment per KBLI code or forgetting the rule applies per code and per location.
- Choosing a KBLI that is closed or capped for foreign investors on the Positive Investment List.
- Skipping the periodic LKPM investment reports in OSS.
Compare Indonesia with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
IndonesiaPT PMA | Varies | Not stated | 22% CIT | No | Notary deed | Domicile required | LKPM reports |
BangladeshPvt Ltd | BDT 4,700 | Not stated | 27.5% | Not stated | Depends | Registered office | BDT 200 per filing |
ChinaWFOE | Varies | Not stated | 25% | Not stated | Depends | Domicile in China | Annual report (NECIPS) |
GeorgiaLLC | GEL 200 | 1 working day | 15% on distribution | No | Notary or NAPR | Actual GE address | Not stated |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Minimum investment IDR 10 billion, minimum paid-up capital IDR 2.5 billion, minimum 2 shareholders, steps (notary, Ministry of Law, NPWP) — sydney.bkpm.go.id, checked September 27, 2026
- Investment value greater than IDR 10 billion excluding land and buildings per KBLI; CIT 22%; paid-up IDR 10 billion under BKPM Reg. 4/2021 (2022 guidebook); board of directors and commissioners in the deed — bkpm.go.id, checked September 27, 2026
- OSS guide citing BKPM Reg. 4/2021 art. 12 on the IDR 10 billion threshold (search extract) — oss.go.id, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- BKPM Regulation No. 5 of 2025 on risk-based business licensing listed in the BKPM legal database — jdih.bkpm.go.id, checked September 27, 2026