- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Not required
- Local director
- Not confirmed
- Registered address
- Proof of right of use
- Minimum capital
- 500 lei minimum
- Yearly upkeep
- Not stated
- EU member
- Yes
- IWG business address
- 17 centresfrom $41/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Societate cu răspundere limitată (SRL) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Oficiul Național al Registrului Comerțului (ONRC) |
| Government filing fee | Varies — No registry fee amount could be retrieved: onrc.ro rejects automated requests. ONRC search extracts state that publication of the registrar's decision in the Electronic Bulletin (BERC) is free of charge and that publication in Monitorul Oficial, where requested, costs 182 lei per manuscript page. |
| Registration time | ONRC: the registrar resolves the registration request on the documents within one working day of filing (Law 265/2022). |
| Resident director | No official page stating a residency condition for the administrator could be retrieved (ONRC blocks fetches); ONRC document lists reference identity documents of associates and administrators only. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | Law 265/2022 (ONRC extracts): fully online incorporation via the ONRC portal with qualified e-signature; the application may be signed by the legal representative, any associate, a lawyer, or a proxy holding an authentic power of attorney. |
| Registered address | ONRC requires proof of the right to use the premises designated as registered office (sediu social) and any secondary offices; nothing was found on virtual-office providers. |
| Minimum capital | 500 lei minimum |
| Corporate tax | The Art. 17 sentence itself was not retrievable; OUG 8/2026 as published by ANAF applies 'cota de 16%' as the profit-tax rate, and ANAF micro-enterprise guidance gives 1% for micro-enterprises with revenue up to €100,000 from 2026. |
| Every year | No annual registry fee was found on the official pages retrieved; annual accounts go to the tax authority (not verified on an official page this run). |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- Varies
No registry fee amount could be retrieved: onrc.ro rejects automated requests. ONRC search extracts state that publication of the registrar's decision in the Electronic Bulletin (BERC) is free of charge and that publication in Monitorul Oficial, where requested, costs 182 lei per manuscript page.
- Every year
- Not stated
No annual registry fee was found on the official pages retrieved; annual accounts go to the tax authority (not verified on an official page this run).
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Romania, step by step
- Check and reserve the company name on the ONRC portal.
- Secure a registered office and obtain the document proving the right to use it.
- Draft and sign the constitutive act (qualified e-signature for online filing).
- Deposit the 500 lei minimum share capital at a bank.
- File the registration request with ONRC online, by a lawyer, or by proxy.
- Receive the registrar's decision within one working day and collect the certificate.
Corporate tax in Romania
16% profit tax. The Art. 17 sentence itself was not retrievable; OUG 8/2026 as published by ANAF applies 'cota de 16%' as the profit-tax rate, and ANAF micro-enterprise guidance gives 1% for micro-enterprises with revenue up to €100,000 from 2026.
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Filing without proof of the right to use the registered-office premises.
- Assuming a paper power of attorney suffices for a proxy: it must be authentic (notarial).
- Choosing the micro-enterprise regime without checking the €100,000 revenue ceiling that applies from 2026.
Compare Romania with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
RomaniaSRL | Varies | 1 working day | 16% profit tax | Not confirmed | Not required | Proof of right of use | Not stated |
AustriaGmbH | Varies | Not stated | 23% (min. €500/yr) | No | Notarial deed | Registry silent | €500 minimum tax |
LuxembourgSARL | Varies | Permit up to 3 months | 17% CIT + surcharges | Permit holder present | Notary (SARL) | Real premises | Not stated |
Serbiad.o.o. | RSD 8,000 | 5 working days | 15% corporate tax | No | Notary + e-filing | Address register check | Annual accounts to APR |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Minimum share capital 500 lei; documents incl. proof of right to use the registered office; registrar decides within one working day — onrc.ro, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Monitorul Oficial publication tariff 182 lei per page; BERC publication free — onrc.ro, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Law 265/2022: online incorporation with qualified e-signature; who may sign the application (representative, associate, lawyer, authentic proxy) — legislatie.just.ro, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Profit-tax rate applied as 'cota de 16%' (OUG 8/2026 text hosted by ANAF) — static.anaf.ro, checked September 27, 2026
- Micro-enterprise tax 1% (revenue ≤ €60,000) and 3% in 2025; revenue ceiling €100,000 from 2026 — static.anaf.ro, checked September 27, 2026