- Remote setup
- Visit needed
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- MOJ notarisation
- Local director
- No
- Registered address
- Lease for licence
- Minimum capital
- No minimum; up to 100%
- Yearly upkeep
- Not stated
- EU member
- No
- IWG business address
- 7 centresfrom $59/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Limited liability company (mainland, Ministry of Commerce and Industry) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Ministry of Commerce and Industry (MOCI), Invest in Qatar Center via the Single Window platform |
| Government filing fee | QAR 1,500 — MOCI FAQ: licensing fee QAR 1,500 plus Chamber of Commerce fees; the Invest in Qatar Center itself charges no fee and standard MOCI fees apply at commercial-register issuance. |
| Registration time | MOCI describes a fully digital track (application, review against the Positive List, commercial register issuance) without a published processing time. |
| Resident director | No residency requirement for managers is stated; an authorised signatory with a valid ID must be named. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | The incorporation document must be notarised by the Ministry of Justice and foreign corporate documents notarised with Arabic translation; a Qatari bank account must be opened. |
| Registered address | The commercial register is issued first and the commercial licence follows; MOCI procedure guides call for a lease relationship declaration in several company transactions. |
| Minimum capital | No minimum; up to 100% |
| Corporate tax | General Tax Authority: 10% on taxable income across all activities; a minimum of 35% for petroleum operations. |
| Every year | Renewal fees are not stated on the pages reached. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- QAR 1,500
- ≈ $412 at ECB rates
MOCI FAQ: licensing fee QAR 1,500 plus Chamber of Commerce fees; the Invest in Qatar Center itself charges no fee and standard MOCI fees apply at commercial-register issuance.
- Every year
- Not stated
Renewal fees are not stated on the pages reached.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Qatar, step by step
- Check the activity against the Positive List on the Single Window platform.
- Reserve a trade name that includes the activity and file the real-beneficiary declaration.
- Prepare passports of foreign partners and the notarised, Arabic-translated commercial register of any corporate partner.
- Have the incorporation document authenticated by the Companies Affairs Department and notarised at the Ministry of Justice.
- Submit the application through the Invest in Qatar Center; pay the QAR 1,500 licence fee and Chamber fees on approval.
- Open a Qatari bank account and obtain the commercial licence for the premises.
Corporate tax in Qatar
10% income tax. General Tax Authority: 10% on taxable income across all activities; a minimum of 35% for petroleum operations.
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Assuming 100% foreign ownership is automatic in every sector rather than checking the Positive List.
- Submitting foreign corporate documents without Qatar embassy notarisation and Arabic translation.
- Expecting the commercial register alone to allow trading before the commercial licence is issued.
Compare Qatar with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
JordanLLC | JOD 250≈ $353 | Up to 14 working days | Not retrieved | No | Officer/notary/lawyer | Not stated | Not stated |
QatarLLC | QAR 1,500≈ $412 | Not stated | 10% income tax | No | MOJ notarisation | Lease for licence | Not stated |
UAEFree zone or mainland company | Varies | ~10 business days (ADGM) | 0% / 9% | Depends on zone | Depends on zone | Physical premises | Licence renewal |
OmanLLC | Varies | Not stated | 15% (3% small LLC) | No | Not required | Not stated | CR renewal |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Law 1/2019 up to 100% ownership except banks, insurance, commercial agencies; no specified minimum capital; no Center fees; bank account required; MOJ-notarised incorporation document; digital Single Window track — moci.gov.qa, checked September 27, 2026
- Income tax 10%; petroleum minimum 35% — gta.gov.qa, checked September 27, 2026
- MOCI FAQ: 49% default foreign ownership with ministerial exception; LLC 1–50 partners; licensing fee QAR 1,500 plus Chamber fees (search extract; page since moved) — moci.gov.qa, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- QFC alternative: 100% foreign ownership and 10% corporate tax — qfc.qa, checked September 27, 2026
- MOCI guide to business setup procedures (Arabic): LLC establishment documents — investor.sw.gov.qa, checked September 27, 2026