- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Not required
- Local director
- No
- Registered address
- Not stated
- Minimum capital
- 100% foreign allowed
- Yearly upkeep
- CR renewal
- EU member
- No
- IWG business address
- 14 centresfrom $47/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Limited liability company (LLC) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Investment Promotion (MOCIIP), via the Oman Business Platform (Invest Easy) |
| Government filing fee | Varies — Commercial registration fees are charged in the Oman Business Platform at application time but no fee table was found on the public pages. |
| Registration time | The platform states many activities can start without licensing and registration is online; no standard processing time is published. |
| Resident director | No residency requirement is stated; the platform offers a login for investors who hold no Omani ID or residency. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | New commercial registration is filed online; non-resident investors log in by email OTP, residents with a PKI-enabled eID card. Registration can also be done at MOCI front desks or Sanad offices. |
| Registered address | Head office contact and address are recorded in the CR (updatable online); lease requirements are not spelled out on the pages reached. |
| Minimum capital | 100% foreign allowed |
| Corporate tax | Income tax 15% of taxable income for Omani companies and permanent establishments; 3% for establishments/LLCs meeting SME conditions (capital not over OMR 50,000, income not over OMR 100,000, up to 15 employees). |
| Every year | The platform provides a Renew Commercial Registration service; renewal fees are not stated. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- Varies
Commercial registration fees are charged in the Oman Business Platform at application time but no fee table was found on the public pages.
- Every year
- CR renewal
The platform provides a Renew Commercial Registration service; renewal fees are not stated.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Oman, step by step
- Create an Oman Business Platform account (eID for residents, email OTP for non-residents).
- Choose the legal form LLC and the ISIC business activities.
- Enter investors, capital and head-office details and upload the standard or custom articles.
- Authorise the application digitally and pay the registration fees.
- Receive the commercial registration; apply for any activity licences the platform flags.
- Register for tax with the Tax Authority and renew the CR when due.
Corporate tax in Oman
15% (3% small LLC). Income tax 15% of taxable income for Omani companies and permanent establishments; 3% for establishments/LLCs meeting SME conditions (capital not over OMR 50,000, income not over OMR 100,000, up to 15 employees).
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Assuming the commercial registration covers activities that require separate licences.
- Trying to add investors later without a digitally signed agreement and capital increase.
- Missing the 3% SME tax conditions when planning capital and headcount.
Compare Oman with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
QatarLLC | QAR 1,500≈ $412 | Not stated | 10% income tax | No | MOJ notarisation | Lease for licence | Not stated |
OmanLLC | Varies | Not stated | 15% (3% small LLC) | No | Not required | Not stated | CR renewal |
UAEFree zone or mainland company | Varies | ~10 business days (ADGM) | 0% / 9% | Depends on zone | Depends on zone | Physical premises | Licence renewal |
TurkeyLimited Şirket | Varies | Same day | 25% corporate tax | No | Registry or proxy | Lease contract | Not stated |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Income tax rate 15%; SME rate 3% conditions; Foreign Capital Investment Law 100% ownership; SEZ minimum-capital exemption — cms.tejarah.gov.om, checked September 27, 2026
- Tax portal: 15% of taxable income for Omani companies and permanent establishments; return within 4 months — tms.taxoman.gov.om, checked September 27, 2026
- Registrable entity types incl. LLC; online registration with eID or at MOCI/Sanad; fees charged before submission; add investors online — business.gov.om, checked September 27, 2026
- New CR service login for investors who do not hold an Omani identity or residency (email OTP) — business.gov.om, checked September 27, 2026