1. Home
  2. Jurisdictions
  3. Pakistan

Company registration in Pakistan

A private limited company or a single-member company is registered with the SECP through its eServices portal: reserve the name, file the incorporation documents, pay the capital-based fee and receive the certificate. Foreign equity up to 100% is allowed. The rule foreign founders trip on: each foreign director and subscriber files a notarised, embassy-attested undertaking and the case goes to the Ministry of Interior for security clearance.

Checked against official sources on September 27, 2026
Gov. filing fee
Varies
Registration time
Not stated
Corporate tax
Not stated
Local director
Security clearance
Remote setup
Possible
Visit, notary or lawyer
Notary + embassy
Local director
Security clearance
Registered address
Not verified
Minimum capital
Not stated
Yearly upkeep
Not stated
EU member
No
IWG business address
21 centresfrom $47/mo

What the registry requires

Company typePrivate limited company ((Pvt.) Limited) or Single Member Company (SMC-Pvt.) Limited
RegistrySecurities and Exchange Commission of Pakistan (SECP), eServices portal
Government filing feeVaries — The SECP fee is calculated on the authorised capital through its online fee calculator; the SECP site blocked all direct requests (403), so amounts could not be read.
Registration timeSECP describes name reservation and incorporation as an end-to-end digital process in four steps; its turnaround-time page could not be read.
Resident directorNo residency rule was found; a foreign director or subscriber is admitted on an undertaking and the case is forwarded to the Ministry of Interior for security clearance.
Visit, notary or lawyerThe foreign director's or subscriber's undertaking must be certified by a public officer or notary in the country of origin and signed by a Pakistani diplomat posted there, with biodata attached.
Registered addressRegistered-office rules could not be read on SECP pages (403).
Minimum capitalNot stated
Corporate taxFBR pages reached did not display the corporate income tax rate.
Every yearSECP annual-return fee pages could not be read (403).

What it costs

Government filing fee
Varies

The SECP fee is calculated on the authorised capital through its online fee calculator; the SECP site blocked all direct requests (403), so amounts could not be read.

Every year
Not stated

SECP annual-return fee pages could not be read (403).

Not included
Provider fees

Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.

How to register a company in Pakistan, step by step

  1. Register a user account on the SECP eServices portal and reserve the company name.
  2. Choose between a single-member company (one member) and a private limited company (two or more).
  3. Prepare the memorandum and articles of association and the directors' particulars.
  4. For each foreign director or subscriber, obtain the undertaking certified by a home-country notary and signed by a Pakistani diplomat, plus biodata.
  5. File the incorporation application online and pay the fee calculated on the authorised capital (bank challan or card).
  6. Receive the certificate of incorporation; the foreign participants' file is forwarded for Ministry of Interior clearance.

Corporate tax in Pakistan

Not stated. FBR pages reached did not display the corporate income tax rate.

Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.

Common mistakes

  • Filing with a foreign director's plain passport copy instead of the notarised, embassy-attested undertaking SECP requires.
  • Forgetting that the fee scales with authorised capital and setting capital higher than needed.
  • Choosing a single-member company and later needing a partner, which forces a conversion to a private company.

Compare Pakistan with alternatives

Company registration requirements by jurisdiction, sortable
Yearly upkeep
PakistanPvt Ltd / SMC
VariesNot statedNot statedSecurity clearanceNotary + embassyNot verifiedNot stated
BangladeshPvt Ltd
BDT 4,700Not stated27.5%Not statedDependsRegistered officeBDT 200 per filing
ChinaWFOE
VariesNot stated25%Not statedDependsDomicile in ChinaAnnual report (NECIPS)
GEL 2001 working day15% on distributionNoNotary or NAPRActual GE addressNot stated
4 of 4 · official sources, checked September 27, 2026. Government fees only; agent and address costs are extra.≈ USD at ECB reference rates of September 25, 2026.

Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.

Sources

  • Company forms (SMC, private, public); four-step digital name reservation and incorporation; payment by challan or card — secp.gov.pk, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
  • Fee calculated on authorised capital via online calculator — secp.gov.pk, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
  • Additional documents for foreign directors and foreign corporate subscribers: certified undertaking signed by Pakistani diplomat, biodata — secp.gov.pk, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
  • Foreign subscribers and officers incorporated on undertaking; case forwarded for Ministry of Interior security clearance — secp.gov.pk, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
  • Incorporation FAQs (company types, single member company) — secp.gov.pk, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
  • Upper limit of foreign equity 100%; remittance of capital, profits and dividends allowed — invest.gov.pk, checked September 27, 2026
Business address · IWG · VirtualOffice

A business address in Pakistan

Every company needs an address. Through our VirtualOffice catalogue you can take a business address in a Regus, Spaces or HQ centre in Pakistan and use it for the registration file, correspondence and clients.

Whether the registry accepts it as the registered office is not stated; confirm with the provider before relying on it.

21IWG centres
3cities
$47from, per month
Addresses in Pakistan
FAQ · 4 questions

Frequently asked questions

There is no single government fee — it depends on the licence or zone. Agent, address and professional fees come on top and vary by provider. Yearly upkeep: Not stated.

The registry does not publish a standard processing time. A licensed provider will give a realistic date for your file.

Yes, with a condition on the director’s residence; a licensed provider will explain the accepted alternatives. A notary must act, which the provider arranges.

The registry does not say. Ask the provider to confirm the registry accepts the address before you pay.