- Remote setup
- Visit needed
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Sign in person/notary
- Local director
- Not stated
- Registered address
- Colombian domicile
- Minimum capital
- Not stated
- Yearly upkeep
- Not stated
- EU member
- No
- IWG business address
- 34 centresfrom $32/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Sociedad por Acciones Simplificada (S.A.S.) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Cámara de Comercio of the company's domicile (Registro Mercantil), e.g. Cámara de Comercio de Bogotá; RUT/NIT from DIAN |
| Government filing fee | Varies — Registration costs two items: the Chamber's derechos de inscripción (amount not retrieved; the Cámara de Comercio de Bogotá site returned 403) plus the departmental impuesto de registro of 0.7% (0.3% in some cases) of the subscribed capital, collected by the Chamber. |
| Registration time | No official processing time was found; the VUE portal offers online filing with a cost pre-liquidator but publishes no standard. |
| Resident director | No official page consulted states a residency requirement for the legal representative; the Minjusticia guide only requires the founding document to name the administrators. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | The S.A.S. is created by private document; the shareholders' signatures are authenticated at the Chamber of Commerce (personal presentation) or before a notary, and a public deed is required only if real estate is contributed. RUE and RUT/NIT registration are requested at the same Chamber visit. |
| Registered address | The document is registered with the Chamber of Commerce of the company's principal domicile in Colombia. |
| Minimum capital | Not stated |
| Corporate tax | General income tax rate for national companies is 35% from tax year 2022 (Estatuto Tributario art. 240, per DIAN oficio 901349 of 2022). |
| Every year | No annual registry obligation could be verified from a fetched official page. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- Varies
Registration costs two items: the Chamber's derechos de inscripción (amount not retrieved; the Cámara de Comercio de Bogotá site returned 403) plus the departmental impuesto de registro of 0.7% (0.3% in some cases) of the subscribed capital, collected by the Chamber.
- Every year
- Not stated
No annual registry obligation could be verified from a fetched official page.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Colombia, step by step
- Draft the private constitutive document with name, purpose, capital, shares and administrators.
- Shareholders authenticate their signatures at the Chamber of Commerce or before a notary.
- File the document for registration in the Registro Mercantil of the company's domicile.
- Pay the Chamber's registration rights and the impuesto de registro (0.7% of subscribed capital in Bogotá).
- Request RUE and RUT/NIT registration at the same Chamber office.
- Use a public deed instead of a private document if real estate is contributed.
Corporate tax in Colombia
35%. General income tax rate for national companies is 35% from tax year 2022 (Estatuto Tributario art. 240, per DIAN oficio 901349 of 2022).
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Underestimating cost by ignoring the impuesto de registro on the subscribed capital.
- Contributing real estate by private document when a notarial public deed is required.
- Filing without the signature authentication, which the Chamber returns unregistered.
Compare Colombia with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
ColombiaS.A.S. | Varies | Not stated | 35% | Not stated | Sign in person/notary | Colombian domicile | Not stated |
ArgentinaS.A.S. | Varies | 72 hours (IGJ) | 25-35% progressive | 1 resident admin | Online via TAD + CDI | Sede in Buenos Aires | Not stated |
ChileSpA | CLP 0 | Not stated | 27% (Régimen General) | Resident legal rep | FEA or notary | Not stated | Not stated |
Costa RicaS.R.L. | Varies | Not stated | 30% (large companies) | Not stated | Notary deed | Not stated | From ¢115,550 a year |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Minjusticia LegalApp: S.A.S. by private document, authentication at the Chamber, registration and RUE/RUT request, public deed only for real estate — minjusticia.gov.co, checked September 27, 2026
- DIAN oficio 901349/2022: general rate 35% for national companies from 2022 (ET art. 240) — normograma.dian.gov.co, checked September 27, 2026
- CCB Guía 7: impuesto de registro 0.7% or 0.3% on the value in the document; base for constitution is subscribed capital — bibliotecadigital.ccb.org.co, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Ley 223/1995 arts. 229-230: registration tax base and rates for Chamber of Commerce acts — funcionpublica.gov.co, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- CCB Guía 1: constitution of a S.A.S. (page returns 403) — ccb.org.co, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- VUE: online company registration with a cost pre-liquidator; no standard time — vue.gov.co, checked September 27, 2026