- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Not required
- Local director
- Half of board in EEA
- Registered address
- Swedish postal address
- Minimum capital
- SEK 25,000
- Yearly upkeep
- Annual report yearly
- EU member
- Yes
- IWG business address
- 47 centresfrom $65/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Aktiebolag (AB) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Bolagsverket (Swedish Companies Registration Office) |
| Government filing fee | SEK 2,400 — verksamt.se: 'It costs from SEK 2,400 to register a limited company' (e-service), plus SEK 250 to register beneficial owners. Bolagsverket's own fee page is behind a bot check; a search snippet of it cites SEK 2,200 (e-service) / SEK 2,400 (paper) after the 19 June 2025 fee change, so the exact split could not be verified. |
| Registration time | Bolagsverket's stated goal is to register a newly formed AB within seven working days from receipt of the notification and payment; filing electronically can save up to eight days compared with paper. |
| Resident director | At least half of the board members and deputies, the managing director and any deputy MD must reside within the EEA (residency, not citizenship); Bolagsverket can grant an exemption. If no board member lives in Sweden, the company must register a person entered in the Swedish population register who can accept service. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | No notary is involved. The e-service on verksamt.se requires Swedish e-identification (e.g. BankID), which is only issued to people registered as resident in Sweden; founders without it file Bolagsverket's paper forms by post. Share capital is proven by a bank certificate from a Swedish or EEA bank. |
| Registered address | The registered office (säte) is a Swedish municipality named in the articles; Bolagsverket requires the registered postal address to be in Sweden and the form has a c/o line, so a Swedish service address can be used. |
| Minimum capital | SEK 25,000 |
| Corporate tax | Bolagsskatt 20.6 % for financial years beginning after 31 December 2020 (Skatteverket). |
| Every year | Every AB must file an annual report with Bolagsverket within seven months of the financial year end, even if dormant; a private AB pays a SEK 7,500 late fee from the first day of delay. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- SEK 2,400
- ≈ $242 at ECB rates
verksamt.se: 'It costs from SEK 2,400 to register a limited company' (e-service), plus SEK 250 to register beneficial owners. Bolagsverket's own fee page is behind a bot check; a search snippet of it cites SEK 2,200 (e-service) / SEK 2,400 (paper) after the 19 June 2025 fee change, so the exact split could not be verified.
- Every year
- Annual report yearly
Every AB must file an annual report with Bolagsverket within seven months of the financial year end, even if dormant; a private AB pays a SEK 7,500 late fee from the first day of delay.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Sweden, step by step
- Choose the company name and draft the memorandum and articles of association.
- Open a company bank account, pay in at least SEK 25,000 and obtain the bank certificate.
- Appoint a board that meets the EEA residency rule and, if nobody lives in Sweden, a Swedish-resident person to accept service.
- File the registration with Bolagsverket through verksamt.se (Swedish e-ID) or on paper forms, and pay the fee.
- Register the beneficial owners with Bolagsverket once the company is registered.
- Register for F-tax, VAT and as an employer with Skatteverket, then file the annual report every year.
Corporate tax in Sweden
20.6% corporate tax. Bolagsskatt 20.6 % for financial years beginning after 31 December 2020 (Skatteverket).
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Appointing a board where fewer than half of the members reside in the EEA without applying for an exemption.
- Assuming the online service accepts a foreign eID; without Swedish e-identification the filing has to go on paper.
- Missing the seven-month annual-report deadline, which triggers an automatic late fee.
Compare Sweden with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
ItalyS.r.l. | €200≈ $228 | Not stated | 24% IRES + 3.9% IRAP | Reciprocity (non-EU) | Notary (online ok) | Registry silent | From €100 a year |
SwedenAB | SEK 2,400≈ $242 | About 7 working days | 20.6% corporate tax | Half of board in EEA | Not required | Swedish postal address | Annual report yearly |
Slovakias.r.o. | €220≈ $251 | 2 working days | 21% (10% ≤ €100k) | Permit if non-EU/OECD | Notary/lawyer deed | Owner's consent | Not stated |
GermanyGmbH | €225≈ $257 | Not stated | 15% + trade tax | No | Notary (video ok) | German address | Not stated |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Fee from SEK 2,400, SEK 25,000 share capital, bank certificate, annual report obligation — verksamt.se, checked September 27, 2026
- EEA residency for half the board and MD; Swedish-resident person to accept service — bolagsverket.se, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Goal of seven working days to register a new AB — bolagsverket.se, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- E-services require Swedish e-identification; paper forms otherwise — bolagsverket.se, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Registered postal address must be in Sweden; c/o line available — bolagsverket.se, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Annual report within seven months; SEK 7,500 late fee — bolagsverket.se, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Fee schedule for limited companies (page behind bot check) — bolagsverket.se, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Corporate tax 20.6 % — skatteverket.se, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)