- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Not required
- Local director
- Half of board in EEA
- Registered address
- Norwegian address
- Minimum capital
- NOK 30,000
- Yearly upkeep
- Accounts by 31 July
- EU member
- No
- IWG business address
- 30 centresfrom $71/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Aksjeselskap (AS) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Brønnøysund Register Centre – Register of Business Enterprises (Foretaksregisteret) |
| Government filing fee | NOK 6,825 — NOK 6,825 for digital submission; NOK 7,912 on paper. Covers entry in both the Central Coordinating Register for Legal Entities and the Register of Business Enterprises. |
| Registration time | Cases processed automatically are usually completed within one hour; cases needing manual processing (paper filings, attachments) usually within 2 weeks. On 27 Sept 2026 the Centre was processing AS registrations received 15 Sept 2026. Registration must be filed within three months of signing the memorandum. |
| Resident director | At least half of the board members (and deputies) and the general manager must be resident in Norway, an EU/EEA country, Great Britain, Northern Ireland or Switzerland. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | No notary. Digital formation (Altinn or the approved providers) only works if every founder has a Norwegian national ID number, d-number or organisation number; a founder without one must use the paper Coordinated register notification, attaching a d-number application (BR1015B) with a certified copy of an ID document, all sent by post. If an EEA bank confirms the share capital, the whole notification must also go by post. |
| Registered address | The business address must be a Norwegian street address or place name; c/o addresses are used in the register and a separate postal address may be reported. |
| Minimum capital | NOK 30,000 |
| Corporate tax | Companies pay tax to the state at 22 % of income (Skatteetaten, rates for 2025 and 2026). |
| Every year | Complete annual accounts must reach the Register of Company Accounts by 31 July each year (no extension); late-filing penalties accrue from 1 August, up to NOK 69,940, with board members jointly and severally liable if the company does not pay. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- NOK 6,825
- ≈ $718 at ECB rates
NOK 6,825 for digital submission; NOK 7,912 on paper. Covers entry in both the Central Coordinating Register for Legal Entities and the Register of Business Enterprises.
- Every year
- Accounts by 31 July
Complete annual accounts must reach the Register of Company Accounts by 31 July each year (no extension); late-filing penalties accrue from 1 August, up to NOK 69,940, with board members jointly and severally liable if the company does not pay.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Norway, step by step
- Draft and sign the memorandum of association including the articles.
- Pay in at least NOK 30,000 share capital and obtain confirmation from a bank, auditor, lawyer or accountant.
- Appoint a board and general manager meeting the EEA/UK/Swiss residency rule; each must sign to accept the role.
- Apply for d-numbers for any officer or founder without a Norwegian ID, attaching certified ID copies.
- Submit the Coordinated register notification (digitally in Altinn or on paper by post) within three months of signing and pay the fee.
- After registration, register for VAT when relevant and file annual accounts by 31 July each year.
Corporate tax in Norway
22% corporate tax. Companies pay tax to the state at 22 % of income (Skatteetaten, rates for 2025 and 2026).
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Trying to use digital company formation when one founder lacks a Norwegian ID or d-number, which is not possible.
- Having the share capital confirmed by an EEA bank and then filing digitally – that case must go entirely by post.
- Missing the 31 July accounts deadline, which starts penalties that board members can end up paying personally.
Compare Norway with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
NorwayAS | NOK 6,825≈ $718 | Up to 2 weeks | 22% corporate tax | Half of board in EEA | Not required | Norwegian address | Accounts by 31 July |
SwitzerlandGmbH | CHF 600≈ $724 | 5–60 days | ≈14.4% avg (8.5% fed.) | Swiss resident | Public deed | Registry silent | Not stated |
AustriaGmbH | Varies | Not stated | 23% (min. €500/yr) | No | Notarial deed | Registry silent | €500 minimum tax |
LuxembourgSARL | Varies | Permit up to 3 months | 17% CIT + surcharges | Permit holder present | Notary (SARL) | Real premises | Not stated |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Fees NOK 6,825 digital / NOK 7,912 paper — brreg.no, checked September 27, 2026
- Residency: half the board and GM in Norway/EU/EEA/UK/Switzerland — brreg.no, checked September 27, 2026
- Share capital NOK 30,000; EEA-bank confirmation forces postal filing — brreg.no, checked September 27, 2026
- Documents, signatures, three-month filing deadline — brreg.no, checked September 27, 2026
- Automatic cases within one hour; manual within 2 weeks; current processing date — brreg.no, checked September 27, 2026
- D-number application by post with certified ID copy — brreg.no, checked September 27, 2026
- Digital formation not available if a founder lacks Norwegian ID/d-number — brreg.no, checked September 27, 2026
- Business address must be a Norwegian street address or place name — brreg.no, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Annual accounts by 31 July; penalty up to NOK 69,940 — brreg.no, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Corporate tax 22 % — skatteetaten.no, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)