- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Not required
- Local director
- Yes (NZ or Australia)
- Registered address
- NZ physical address
- Minimum capital
- Not stated
- Yearly upkeep
- $49.74 + GST a year
- EU member
- No
- IWG business address
- 16 centresfrom $47/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Limited company (Ltd) incorporated under the Companies Act 1993 |
|---|---|
| Registry | New Zealand Companies Office (Companies Register) |
| Government filing fee | NZ$118.74 — Incorporation $118.74 plus GST ($136.55 including GST); name reservation $10 plus GST ($11.50). |
| Registration time | No processing time is published; after reserving a name you have 20 working days to complete incorporation, and the certificate is emailed on incorporation. |
| Resident director | Every company must have at least one director who lives in New Zealand, or lives in Australia and is a director of an Australian-incorporated company (ACN required); more than 183 days in NZ in 12 months usually satisfies the test. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | Online application through a Companies Office account with RealMe login; directors and shareholders sign and return consent forms. |
| Registered address | The registered office and address for service must be physical addresses in New Zealand; no PO box or DX service. |
| Minimum capital | Not stated |
| Corporate tax | Most companies are taxed at 28% (Inland Revenue). |
| Every year | Annual return fee $49.74 plus GST ($57.20 including GST). |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- NZ$118.74
- ≈ $67 at ECB rates
Incorporation $118.74 plus GST ($136.55 including GST); name reservation $10 plus GST ($11.50).
- Every year
- $49.74 + GST a year
Annual return fee $49.74 plus GST ($57.20 including GST).
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in New Zealand, step by step
- Set up a Companies Office online services account with a RealMe login.
- Reserve the company name ($10 plus GST); the reservation gives 20 working days to finish.
- Line up at least one director who lives in New Zealand or in Australia (with an Australian directorship and ACN).
- Provide physical New Zealand addresses for the registered office and address for service, plus an email address.
- Complete the online application, then file signed consent forms from every director and shareholder.
- Pay $118.74 plus GST and receive the certificate of incorporation by email; file the annual return each year.
Corporate tax in New Zealand
28%. Most companies are taxed at 28% (Inland Revenue).
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Listing only overseas directors, which fails the live-in-NZ-or-Australia rule.
- Giving a PO box, DX or overseas address for the registered office or address for service.
- Letting the 20-working-day name reservation lapse before the consents are filed.
Compare New Zealand with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
New ZealandLimited company | NZ$118.74≈ $67 | Not stated | 28% | Yes (NZ or Australia) | Not required | NZ physical address | $49.74 + GST a year |
WyomingLLC | $100 | Not stated | No state income tax | No | Not required | Agent address | From $60 a year |
DelawareLLC | $110 | Not stated | Depends on owners | No | Not required | Agent address | $300–$400 LLC tax |
AustraliaPty Ltd | A$636≈ $447 | About 2 business days | 30% (25% small) | Yes | Not required | Registered office | $342 a year |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Fees $10 plus GST and $118.74 plus GST; 20 working days; addresses and consents; steps — companies-register.companiesoffice.govt.nz, checked September 27, 2026
- Resident director rule and 183-day guidance — companies-register.companiesoffice.govt.nz, checked September 27, 2026
- Registered office and address for service must be physical addresses in New Zealand — companies-register.companiesoffice.govt.nz, checked September 27, 2026
- Fee schedule incl. GST: $11.50, $136.55, annual return $57.20 — companies-register.companiesoffice.govt.nz, checked September 27, 2026
- Company tax rate 28% — ird.govt.nz, checked September 27, 2026