- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Not required
- Local director
- Yes
- Registered address
- Registered office
- Minimum capital
- Not stated
- Yearly upkeep
- $342 a year
- EU member
- No
- IWG business address
- 65 centresfrom $68/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Proprietary limited company (Pty Ltd) |
|---|---|
| Registry | Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) |
| Government filing fee | A$636 — Form 201 application to register a company with share capital, from 1 July 2026 (ASIC fee data); optional name reservation $65. |
| Registration time | Business Registration Service: about 15 minutes to apply; confirmation in 2 business days if all documents are provided and the fee paid. |
| Resident director | Proprietary companies must have at least one director who normally lives in Australia (ASIC). |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | Registration is online through the Business Registration Service; every director must hold a director identification number before appointment. |
| Registered address | The application must give a registered office address and a principal place of business address in the state or territory of registration. |
| Minimum capital | Not stated |
| Corporate tax | 30% company rate; 25% for base rate entities with aggregated turnover under $50 million and no more than 80% passive income (2025-26). |
| Every year | Annual review fee for a proprietary company (from 1 July 2026), due about 2 months after the review date; late fees $102 within a month and $428 after. |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- A$636
- ≈ $447 at ECB rates
Form 201 application to register a company with share capital, from 1 July 2026 (ASIC fee data); optional name reservation $65.
- Every year
- $342 a year
Annual review fee for a proprietary company (from 1 July 2026), due about 2 months after the review date; late fees $102 within a month and $428 after.
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in Australia, step by step
- Each proposed director applies for a director identification number with Australian Business Registry Services.
- Appoint at least one director who normally lives in Australia and choose a company name (optionally reserve it for $65).
- Decide the constitution or replaceable rules, share structure and the state or territory of registration.
- Provide a registered office address and a principal place of business address.
- Lodge the application through the Business Registration Service and pay the $636 fee.
- Receive the certificate of registration and ACN, then pay the $342 annual review fee each year.
Corporate tax in Australia
30% (25% small). 30% company rate; 25% for base rate entities with aggregated turnover under $50 million and no more than 80% passive income (2025-26).
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Applying with only overseas directors; ASIC requires one director who normally lives in Australia.
- Appointing a director who has not yet obtained a director ID.
- Missing the annual review fee due date and incurring $102 to $428 late fees.
Compare Australia with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
New ZealandLimited company | NZ$118.74≈ $67 | Not stated | 28% | Yes (NZ or Australia) | Not required | NZ physical address | $49.74 + GST a year |
WyomingLLC | $100 | Not stated | No state income tax | No | Not required | Agent address | From $60 a year |
DelawareLLC | $110 | Not stated | Depends on owners | No | Not required | Agent address | $300–$400 LLC tax |
AustraliaPty Ltd | A$636≈ $447 | About 2 business days | 30% (25% small) | Yes | Not required | Registered office | $342 a year |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- At least one director who normally lives in Australia; director ID before appointment; secretary optional — asic.gov.au, checked September 27, 2026
- Register via Business Registration Service; registered office and principal place of business addresses; director ID before registration — asic.gov.au, checked September 27, 2026
- Fee codes: registration with share capital $636 (I02), annual review proprietary $342 (A52), late fees $102/$428, fee year 2026 — download.asic.gov.au, checked September 27, 2026
- Fee tables page (values loaded from the ASIC fee data file) — asic.gov.au, checked September 27, 2026
- About 15 minutes to apply; confirmation in 2 business days — business.gov.au, checked September 27, 2026
- Annual review fee due about 2 months after review date — asic.gov.au, checked September 27, 2026
- Company tax 30%, base rate entity 25%, 2025-26 — ato.gov.au, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)