- Remote setup
- Possible
- Visit, notary or lawyer
- Notary / apostille
- Local director
- Yes (182 days)
- Registered address
- Not verified
- Minimum capital
- Not stated
- Yearly upkeep
- Not stated
- EU member
- No
- IWG business address
- 149 centresfrom $27/mo
What the registry requires
| Company type | Private Limited Company (Pvt Ltd) incorporated through SPICe+ |
|---|---|
| Registry | Ministry of Corporate Affairs, Registrar of Companies (Central Registration Centre) via the SPICe+ web form |
| Government filing fee | ₹0 — Zero MCA filing fee for SPICe+ incorporation with authorised capital up to INR 15,00,000; state stamp duty on the memorandum and articles still applies and differs by state. |
| Registration time | MCA pages did not state a processing time (the site returned 403 to direct requests); the CIN and DINs are issued once the SPICe+ form is processed and found complete. |
| Resident director | At least one director must have stayed in India for not less than 182 days in the financial year; MCA defines 'resident in India' the same way. |
| Visit, notary or lawyer | Signatures and addresses of overseas subscribers must be notarised, apostilled or consularised as applicable; overseas corporate subscribers attach apostilled MoA and AoA; physical MoA/AoA are needed for some foreign subscribers; a digital signature certificate signs the form. |
| Registered address | The registered-office rule could not be read on an official page during this check (MCA returned 403, India Code timed out). |
| Minimum capital | Not stated |
| Corporate tax | 25% for domestic companies with turnover up to Rs 400 crore, otherwise 30%; optional 22% under section 115BAA; surcharge and 4% health and education cess on top (AY 2026-27). |
| Every year | Annual filings apply but the MCA fee pages were not reachable (403). |
What it costs
- Government filing fee
- ₹0
- ≈ $0 at ECB rates
Zero MCA filing fee for SPICe+ incorporation with authorised capital up to INR 15,00,000; state stamp duty on the memorandum and articles still applies and differs by state.
- Every year
- Not stated
Annual filings apply but the MCA fee pages were not reachable (403).
- Not included
- Provider fees
Registered agent or address, notary fees, accounting and bank onboarding vary by provider — ask for a quote in the request form.
How to register a company in India, step by step
- Obtain a digital signature certificate for the subscribers and directors who will sign.
- Reserve the name in SPICe+ Part A.
- Line up a director who has stayed in India for at least 182 days in the financial year.
- Have overseas subscribers' signatures and documents notarised, apostilled or consularised as applicable.
- Complete SPICe+ Part B with the e-MoA and e-AoA and the linked PAN, TAN and other registrations, and pay any state stamp duty.
- Receive the certificate of incorporation with CIN and the directors' DINs.
Corporate tax in India
25% / 30%. 25% for domestic companies with turnover up to Rs 400 crore, otherwise 30%; optional 22% under section 115BAA; surcharge and 4% health and education cess on top (AY 2026-27).
Rates are the headline figures published by the tax authority; your effective rate depends on residence, activity and treaties. This is not tax advice.
Common mistakes
- Planning an all-overseas board; the 182-day resident director rule applies to every company.
- Submitting foreign documents without apostille or consular attestation for the subscriber's country.
- Assuming 'zero fee' means no cost; state stamp duty on the memorandum and articles is still payable.
Compare India with alternatives
| Yearly upkeep | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
IndiaPrivate Limited | ₹0≈ $0 | Not stated | 25% / 30% | Yes (182 days) | Notary / apostille | Not verified | Not stated |
ThailandCo., Ltd. | THB 5,500≈ $165 | Same day possible | 20% CIT | No | ID check or proxy | Thai office | AGM + audited FS |
Hong KongLimited company | HK$1,545≈ $197 | About 1 hour online | 8.25% / 16.5% | No | Not required | HK address | BR fee HK$2,200 |
MalaysiaSdn Bhd | MYR 1,000≈ $245 | Not stated | 24% (SME 15–17%) | Resident director | Not required | Registered office | Annual return + FS |
Nearest by region and government fee. All 83 jurisdictions in one table · take the quiz.
Sources
- Zero filing fee up to INR 15 lakh authorised capital; SPICe+ default route; resident in India = 182 days — mca.gov.in, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Notarisation/apostille/consularisation of overseas subscribers' signatures; apostilled MoA/AoA for foreign corporate subscribers; CIN and DIN issued on processing — mca.gov.in, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- SPICe+ form page — mca.gov.in, checked September 27, 2026 (search extract)
- Domestic company tax rates 25%/30%, 22% under 115BAA, surcharge and cess, AY 2026-27 — incometax.gov.in, checked September 27, 2026